Search & Find
Veterinary Science and Microbiology
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Web Resources
- UA Campus Resources
- People & Organizations
- Funding and Career Opportunities
Background Information
Books
Find out which books, journals, videos, or other items the library owns.
In the UA Science-Engineering Library, most veterinary science books and journals are shelved under the call number SF. Other relevant call number areas include QL (Zoology), QR (Microbiology), R-RZ (Medicine) and SF-SH (Fisheries & Wildlife Management). The call number location guide will direct you to the appropriate library floor and section where items with those call numbers can be found.
WorldCat Local
Guide
WorldCat Local is a localized version of the WorldCat database that includes local information taken from the UA library catalog for UA-owned library materials, as well as information on the holdings of thousands of other libraries worldwide. UA faculty, staff and students can place holds or request Interlibrary Loans directly through this system.
Also currently included are over 60 million article listings from ArticleFirst and British Library Serials (multidisciplinary), ERIC (education), GPO (US government pubications) and Medline/PubMed (health sciences). Links are provided out to full text content if the UA Libraries subscribe to it.
The reviews section for each item will not work if you are off-campus.
A catalog of records for all type of material cataloged by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for manuscripts written as early as the 12th century as well as records for books, journals, software, etc. created last week. This database is updated daily.
Interlibrary Loan service is available directly from WorldCat for UA students, faculty and staff.
(Note: This version of WorldCat differs from WorldCat Local and WorldCat.org in that it displays full bibliographic information, but does not include article citations.)
Free version of the WorldCat database featuring local library holdings as well as worldwide.
Dictionaries
Dissertations and Theses
Current Research @ University of Arizona
Guide
Dissertations & Theses @ UA searches the Proquest/UMI Dissertation
database for ONLY those dissertations and theses submitted by the
University of Arizona, dating back to 1924. Academic department
information is not provided. Abstracts are available from 1984, and full
text is available for downloading from 1996 forward.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Guide
Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European
colleges and universities. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the
author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Includes full text of dissertations from 1996 to present.
NOTE: Some full text is not available due to restrictions placed by the author, patents pending or problems
regarding use of copyrighted material without permission.
SEARCH TIP FOR UA DISSERTATIONS:
Type "university of arizona" (with quotes) in the School name search box.
Or use the Current
Research @ University of Arizona subset of this database.
University of Arizona Electronic Theses and Dissertations
UA Library's open-access database of dissertations and theses submitted through the Graduate College by UA students (2005- ), Masters' reports from Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture (2003- ), Honor's theses (2008- ), and some digitized dissertations and theses from earlier years.
E-Books
ebrary is an online collection of books spanning multiple subject areas. Direct access is available to the UA. You can also create a personal ebrary account which allows you to create a personal online bookshelf, save bookmarks within a book, annotate pages, and highlight specific passages for later reference.
Although you no longer need to install the ebrary Reader software just to view or search within ebrary books, you must install it in order to print and copy pages, highlight text, create and edit notes or use the features of the ebrary InfoTools. If the software isn't installed on the computer you are using, you should be prompted to install it when you click the blue "ebrary Reader" button at the top of the screen. If the reader doesn't install automatically, click the Help button on upper right, and look in either the Windows or Mac OS X section of "Installing the ebrary Plug-in Reader".
Google Books
Google Books enables specific searches within the content of books.. Content includes a range of material digitized from some of the major research libraries in the U.S. and Britain. It also includes contents from publishers.
Note that not all the books found in Google Books will be in the
UA Library. If you find references to materials in Google Books, please consult the UA Library catalog
to locate them.
National Academy Press
National Academy Press provides full-text online access to over 1500
books on a wide range of topics in science, health policy,
environmental protection, technology and commerce.
NCBI Bookshelf (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
The NCBI Bookshelf can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts: when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections.
NetLibrary
NetLibrary is the most comprehensive collection of online eBooks
and resource materials available. Using netLibrary, you can access a wide
range of scholarly and reference materials entirely online. Subjects
covered by netLibrary include arts and entertainment, business and
economy, computer and internet, education, health, history, government
and law, recreation and sports, reference, science and technology, social
sciences and society and culture. Geographic scope is United States and
international.
To check out netLibrary eBooks, you must create an account.
UA users can create accounts and once you have a netLibrary account you
can use eBooks from any computer, regardless of its location.
Some netLibrary e-books require the use of the DjVu plug-in (check for
the DjVu download link when opening a book).
For more information about using netLibrary, see their page on
How to use netLibrary, Search Tips, or their Help page.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Wiley Interscience) now contains all the content formerly available on Blackwell Synergy.
Note: Only issues listed with an "open padlock" icon are included in the UA subscription.
Springer Journals & eBooks
Includes current and some back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Kluwer is now owned by Springer and access to former Kluwer journals is available from the Springer Web site.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Unique online encyclopedia for the life sciences. Integrates
current theory, practice and understanding of all basic and many applied
aspects of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on cell and
molecular biology and its relevance to medicine.
Handbooks
Software @ Information Commons
Information Commons - Software - Class Software - Math, Science, Engineering
• MATLAB
(Available at Main Library IC, Science-Engineering Library IC, & Fine Arts Library IC.)
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: November 02, 2012 11:19
