Search & Find
Chemistry
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Biochemistry Journals
- Chemistry Journals
- Facts & Figures
- Spectra & Spectral Data
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
Background Information
General Information
Additional Chemistry Reference Sources
Chemistry Databases
Chemical Nomenclature
Additional titles classified under the subjects chemistry nomenclature, organic nomenclature, and inorganic nomenclature.
QD7 .L44 1998
Science Library
QD71.8 .C66 1998
Science Library
QD149 .B59 1990
Science Ref
QD149 .N66 1990
Science Ref
A guide to IUPAC nomenclature of organic compounds : recommendations 1993
See also Corrections to this volume.
Citation Guides
Citation Guides - Also, use RefWorks to store citations and format your bibliographies
QD8.5 .A25 1997
Science Ref and Science Library
General Chemistry Encyclopedias
Q 121 .M3 2002 Science Ref /Info Commons Ref
20 volumes plus annual supplements.
QD4 .A2313 1993 Science Ref
TP9 .E66 Science Ref
TP9 .E685 1991 Science Ref
Excellent information source covering preparation, manufacturing processes, properties, etc., of chemical substances.
TP9 .U57
Latest issues in Science Ref / Earlier issues in Science Stacks
General Chemistry Dictionaries
QD5 .B32 1980 Science Ref
QD5 .C5 2002 Science Ref/ Info Commons Ref
QD5 .D4985 2000 Science Library
QD5 .D54 1984 Science Ref
QD5 .D57 1989 Science Ref
QD5 .K294 1998 Science Ref
QD5 .M262 1993 Science Ref
QD5 .W565 1992 Science Ref
Guides to the Chemical Literature
Additional titles classified under the subject chemical literature.
QD8.5 .M34 1998 Science Ref
T211 .M39 1991 Science Library
General Handbooks
QD61 .S58 1996 Science Ref
Covers laboratory safety, analytic procedures, and instrumentation techniques.
QD65 .H25 1999 Science Ref
A classic reference source covering all areas of chemistry.
Sources of Chemicals
TP12 .C44 Science Ref
TP12 .C58
Latest issues in Science Ref / Earlier issues in Science Stacks
Analytical Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Analytical Instrumentation
"This index provides introductions to the most common methods of instrumental analysis."
QD63.S4 E53 2000 Science Ref
10 volumes covering the following major topics: affinity separation, centrifugation, chromatography, crystallisation, distillation, electrophoresis, extraction, flotation, ion exchange, mass spectrometry, membrane-based methodologies and particle size separations.
QD71 .M37 Science Ref
Mainly tables, useful for analyses.
QD71.5 .E52 2000 Science Ref
15 volumes covering three main categories: Applications of Instrumental Methods, Theory and Instrumentation, and General Articles.
QD75.2 .W38 1994 Science Library
Contents: Animal Feedingstuffs; Additives in Animal Feedingstuffs; The Analysis of Cosmetic Products; Essential Oils; Fertilisers; Trace Elements in Fertilisers and Feedingstuffs; Statutory Methods of Analysis for Foodstuffs; Methods of Analysis for Foodstuffs Verified by Collaborative Trial under the Auspices of MAFF; Meat Products and Meat Extracts; The Analysis of Milk and Milk Products; Vitamins; Methods for the Analysis of Pesticide Residues; Methods for the Determination of Occupationally Hazardous Substances; Oils and Fats; Soaps; Treatment of Data and the Application of Statistics to Analytical Chemistry; Analytical Methods for the Determination of (Trace) Metals and Other Elements; Water Analysis; The Analysis of Various Materials; Brewing and Brewing Materials; EEC Food Methods; British Standards; Index.
QD79 .I5 A49 1997 Science Ref
Intended "as a guide for workers in the field of analytical chemistry who may be called on to decide what approach to pursue in solving specific problems. This book provides basic information about the various alternatives." 25 chapters cover various classes of instruments.
S587 .A73 1994 Science Ref
Primarily foodstuff analytical methods, but many other substances covered.
Biochemistry / Biophysics
(Biophysics Society)
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Unique online encyclopedia for the life sciences. Integrates
current theory, practice and understanding of all basic and many applied
aspects of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on cell and
molecular biology and its relevance to medicine.
QD415 .A25 O94 2000 Science Library
QP514 .R5 Science Library
Computational Chemistry
QD39.3 .E46 E53 1998 Science Ref
QD39.3 .E46 R49 Science Library
QD39.3.M3 C66 1996 Science Library
Hazardous Materials and Lab Safety
Additional titles classified under the subjects hazardous substances - handbooks and chemical laboratories - safety measures
From Oklahoma State University's Online Safety Library
QD51 .C73 2000 Science Library
QD63.5 .H34 1994 Science Library
T55.3.H3 L49 2002 Science Library
Inorganic, Organometallic, and Coordination Chemistry
QD31 .M52 Science Library
Volume 1 / H, O
Volume 2 / F, Cl, Br, I, Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs
Volume 3 / Cu, Ag, Au, Ca, Sr, Ba
Volume 4 / Ra and Ac families, Be, Mg, Zn, Cd, Hg
Volume 5 / B, Al, Ga, In, Tl, Sc, Ce, and rare earth metals
Volume 6 / C (part ii), Si, silicates
Volume 7 / Ti, Zr, Hf, Th, Ge, Sn, Pb, inert gases
Volume 8 / N, P
Volume 9 / As, Sb, Bi, V, Cb, Ta
Volume 10 / S, Se
Volume 11 / Te, Cr, Mo, W
Volume 12 / U, Mn, Ma and Re, Fe (part 1)
Volume 13 / Fe (part ii)
Volume 14 / Fe (part iii)
Volume 15 / Ni, Ru, Rh, Pd, Os, Ir
Volume 16 / Pt and general subject index
QD148 .D53 1992 Science Ref
QD148 .E53 1994 Science Ref
QD151 .A1 I5 Science Ref
Inorganic Syntheses began publication in 1933 and serves "to provide all users of inorganic substances with detailed and foolproof procedures for the preparation of timely compounds." All procedures are critically evaluated by an independent laboratory prior to publication. Includes a cumulative Author, Subject, Formula, and Chemical Abstracts Registry Number Index for the first 30 volumes.
QD151 .G52 Science Library
Available online via CrossFire Beilstein / Gmelin .
QD151.2 .C64 Science Ref
Volume 1 / H, Noble gases, Group IA, IIA, IIIB, C, and Si
Volume 2 / Ge, Sn, Pb, Group VB, VIB, VIIB
Volume 3 / Group IB IIB, IIIA, IVA, VA, VIA, VIIA, VIII
Volume 4 / Lanthanides, Transition metal compounds
Volume 5 / Actinides; Master index
QD411 .C65 Science Ref
Volume 1-6 / Organometallic chemistry of transition metals and main group elements
Volume 7-8 / The use of organometallics in organic synthesis
Volume 9 / Cumulative indexes
QD411 .C652 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Lithium, beryllium, and boron groups
Volume 2 / Silicon group, arsenic, antimony, and bismuth
Volume 3 / Copper and zinc groups
Volume 4 / Scandium, yttrium, lanthanides and actinides, and titanium group
Volume 5 / Vanadium and chromium groups
Volume 6 / Manganese groups
Volume 7 / Iron, ruthenium and osmium
Volume 8 / Cobalt, rhodium, and iridium
Volume 9 / Nickel, palladium, and platinum
Volume 10 / Heteronuclear metal-metal bonds
Volume 11 / Main-group metal organometallics in organic synthesis
Volume 12 / Transition metal organometallics in organic synthesis
Volume 13 / Structure index
Volume 14 / Cumulative indexes
QD411 .C66 1996 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Molecular recognition: receptors for cationic guests
Volume 2 / Molecular recognition: receptors for molecular guests
Volume 3 / Cyclodextrins
Volume 4 / Supramolecular reactivity and transport: bioorganic systems
Volume 5 / Supramolecular reactivity and transport: bioinorganic systems
Volume 6 / Solid-state supramolecular chemistry: crystal engineering
Volume 7 / Solid-state supramolecular chemistry: two- and three-dimensional inorganic networks
Volume 8 / Physical methods in supramolecular chemistry
Volume 9 / Templating, self-assembly, and self-organization
Volume 10 / Supramolecular technology
Volume 11 / Cumulative subject index
Entries include chemical name, formula, formula weight, structure, and a variety of spectroscopic and thermodynamic data. Other information, such as synthesis information and review articles, can be found through the key references listed after each entry.
QD411 .S96 1996 Science Library
Volume 1 / Literature, laboratory techniques, and common starting materials
Volume 2 / Groups 1, 2, 13, and 14
Volume 3 / Phosphorus, arsenic, antimony, and bismuth
Volume 4 / Sulfur, selenium, and tellurium
Volume 5 / Copper, silver, gold, zinc, cadmium, and mercury
Volume 6 / Lanthanides and actinides
Volume 7 / Transition metals, part 1
Volume 8 / Transition metals, part 2
Volume 9 / Transition metals, part 3
Volume 10 / Catalysis
QD411.7 .T47 T4713 1998 Science Ref
QD474 .C65 1987 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Theory and background
Volume 2 / Ligands
Volume 3 / Main group and early transition elements
Volume 4 / Middle transition elements
Volume 5 / Late transition elements
Volume 6 / Industrial, medical, and synthetic applications
Volume 7 / Indexes
QD474 .C65 2004 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Fundamentals: ligands, complexes, synthesis, purification, and structure
Volume 2 / Fundamentals: physical methods, theoretical analysis, and case studies
Volume 3 / Coordination chemistry of the S, P, and F metals
Volume4 / Transition metal groups 3-6
Volume5 /Transition metal groups 7 and 8
Volume6 /Transition metal groups 9-12
Volume7 /From the molecular to the nanoscale: synthesis, structure, and properties
Volume8 /Bio-coordination chemistry
Volume9 /Applications of coordination chemistry
Volume10 /Cumulative subject index
QD501 .I623 1986 Science Library
Volume 1-2 / The formation of bonds to hydrogen
Volume 3-4 / The formation of bonds to halogens
Volume 5-6 / The formation of bonds to O, S, Se, Te, Po
Volume 7-8 / The formation of bonds to N, P, As, Sb, Bi
Volume 9-12 / The formation of bonds to C, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb
Volume 13 / The formation of bonds to B, AL, GA, In, Tl; LI, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Fr Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Ra; Cu, Ag, Au, Zn, Cd, Hg
Volume 14 / Formation of bonds to transition and inner-transition metals
Volume 15 / Electron transfer and electrochemical reactions; Photochemical and other energized reactions
Volume 16 / Reactions catalyzed by inorganic compounds
Volume 17 / Oligomerization and polymerization
Alphabetical order by common usage names.
Organic Chemistry and Natural Products
Beilstein's Handbook of Organic Chemistry
Available online via Beilstein CrossFire.
Call number varies. Search the Library Catalog to view titles of specific volumes in this series
QD77 .E53 1995 Science Ref
QD77 .H37 1999 Science Library
Volume 1 / Reagents, auxiliaries, and catalysts for C-C bond formation
Volume 2 / Oxidizing and reducing agents
Volume 3 / Acidic and basic reagents
Volume 4 / Activating agents and protecting groups
QD245 .C65 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Stereochemistry, hydrocarbons, halo compounds, oxygen compounds
Volume 2 / Nitrogen compounds, carboxylic acids, phosphorous compounds
Volume 3 / Sulphur, selenium, silicon, boron, organometallic compounds
Volume 4 / Heterocyclic compounds
Volume 5 / Biological compounds
Volume 6 / Formula, subject, author, reaction, and reagent indexes
QD251 .O7 Science Ref
From the publisher:
"The volumes of Organic Reactions are collections of chapters each devoted to a single reaction, or a definite phase of a reaction, of wide applicability. The material is treated from a preparative viewpoint, with emphasis on limitations, interfering influences, effects of structure, and the selection of experimental techniques. Numerous detailed procedures illustrate the significant modifications of each method. Includes tables that contain all possible examples of the reaction under consideration. "
QD257.7 .H36 1994 Science Ref
QD258 .M44 Science Library. See also How to use Houben-Weyl, Volume summaries.
QD262 .C53 Science Library
From the publisher:
"Provides synthetic chemists with a method for rapid retrieval of information from the literature, listing material by reaction type rather than by author name or publication date. Each updated volume will present the latest synthetic methods for preparation of monofunctional and difunctional compounds. The organization is logical and easy to follow; sections are arranged according to the possible interconversions between the major functional groups."
QD262 .C534 1995 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Synthesis: Carbon with No Attached Heteroatoms
Volume 2 / Synthesis: Carbon with One Heteroatom Attached by a Single Bond
Volume 3 / Synthesis: Carbon with One Heteroatom Attached by a Multiple Bond
Volume 4 / Synthesis: Carbon with Two Heteroatoms, Each Attached by a Single Bond
Volume 5 / Synthesis: Carbon with Two Attached Heteroatoms with at Least One Carbon/to/Heteroatom Multiple Link
Volume 6 / Synthesis: Carbon with Three or Four Attached Heteroatoms
Volume 7 / Index
QD262 .C535 1991 Science Ref
QD262 .F5 Science Ref
From the publisher:
"The well respected and ever popular Fieser and Fieser series on reagents for organic synthesis provides concise descriptions, good structural formulas and selected examples of applications-providing references to new reagents as well as to reagents included in previous volumes. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more. The reagents are considered in alphabetical order by common usage names. "
QD262 .L355 1999 Science Ref
QD262 .O7 Science Library (Individual volumes) (See also QD262 O722 Science Ref - Collective volumes).
From the publisher:
"[Organic syntheses] compiles independently checked selected procedures and new reactions which, if carefully followed, permit the advanced research student or professional chemist skilled in the field to prepare compounds of research utility."
Available online at http://www.orgsyn.org/ (Requires ChemDraw plugin)
QD262 .S35 Science Ref
Irregularly published. A total of 48 volumes are scheduled for publication by 2007.
QD400 .C65 1984 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Nomenclature, review literature, biological aspects, industrial uses, less-common heterocycles
Volume 2 / Six-membered rings with one nitrogen atom
Volume 3 / Six-membered rings with oxygen, sulfur or two or more nitrogen atoms
Volume 4 / Five-membered rings with one oxygen, sulfur, or nitrogen atom
Volume 5 / Five-membered rings with two or more nitrogen atoms
Volume 6 / Five-membered rings with two or more oxygen, sulfur or nitrogen atoms
Volume 7 / Small and large rings
Volume 8 / Index
QD400 .C65 1996 Science Ref
Volume 1A / Three-membered rings, with all fused systems containing three-membered rings
Volume 1B / Four-membered rings, with all fused systems containing four-membered rings
Volume 2 / Five-membered rings with one heteroatom and fused carbocyclic derivatives
Volume 3 / Five-membered rings with two heteroatoms and fused carbocyclic derivatives
Volume 4 / Five-membered rings with more than two heteroatoms and fused carbocyclic derivataives
Volume 5 / Six-membered rings with one heteroatom and fused carbocyclic derivatives
Volume 6 / Six-membered rings with two or more heteroatoms and fused carbocyclic derivatives
Volume 7 / Fused five- and six-membered rings without ring junction heteroatoms
Volume 8 / Fused five- and six-membered rings with ring junction heteroatoms
Volume 9 / Seven-membered and larger rings and fused derivatives
Volume 10 / Author and ring indexes
Volume 11 / Subject index
QD415 .A25 D53 1994 Science Ref
Entries include chemical name, formula, formula weight, structure, and a variety of spectroscopic and thermodynamic data. Other information, such as synthesis information and review articles, can be found through the key references listed after each entry.
QD415 .C63 1999 Science Ref
Volume 1 / Polyketides and other secondary metabolites including fatty acids and their derivatives
Volume 2 / Isoprenoids including carotenoids and steroids
Volume 3 / Carbohydrates and their derivatives including tannins, cellulose, and related lignins
Volume 4 / Amino acids, peptides, porphyrins, and alkaloids
Volume 5 / Enzymes, enzyme mechanics, proteins, and aspects of NO chemistry
Volume 6 / Prebiotic chemistry, molecule fossils, nucleosides, and RNA
Volume 7 / DNA and aspects of molecular biology
Volume 8 / Miscellaneous natural products including marine natural products, pheromones, plant hormones, and aspects of ecology
QD505 .C65 1999 Science Library
QP671 .P6 P668 Science Ref
Physical and Chemical Property Data
GUIDE TO PROPERTY HANDBOOKS
From the University of Texas at Austin Chemistry Library.
"ThermoDex contains records for printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. You can select one or more compound types and link them to one or more property terms, and ThermoDex will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data." Note: If you find a resource using Thermodex, use the Library Catalog to determine if it is available at the University of Arizona Library.
GENERAL PROPERTY HANDBOOKS / DATABASES
The Aldrich Chemical Catalog has property information and links to Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS).
ChemFinder is a great online resource for chemical properties (registration required after 5 searches).
Provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data.
QD511 .N57 1998 Science Ref & Science Library
Recommended temperature-dependent values are provided for chemical thermodynamic properties of inorganic substances and for organic substances containing only one or two carbon atoms.
QD511.8 .B56 2002 Science Ref
TP200 Y35 1999 Science Library
Covers organic and inorganic chemicals
Physical Chemistry
QD451 .E539 2001 Science Ref
Polymer Chemistry
QD281 .P6 D47 1997 Science Ref
Covers general synthetic methods, radiation effects and applications, optoelectronic properties and applications, chemical and physicochemical applications, and biomedical applications.
QD381 .C66 1988 Science Ref
TA455.P58 Z45 2002 Science Library
In English, German, French, Spanish, and Russian.
SciFinder
UA students faculty and staff, please register with Scifinder to get a username and password
SciFinder indexes a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 01 Jul 09:53
