Search & Find
Neuroscience
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Laboratory Practices
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- Funding & Career Opportunities
- People & Organizations
- Writing & Presentation Resources
Background Information
Books
To locate a book: Use Exact Search if you have an exact title or author name; use Keyword Search if you are searching with keywords.
A catalog of records for all types of material cataloged by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for books, journals, software, etc. created last week. This database is updated daily.
Free version of the WorldCat database that can show nearby library holdings.
E-Books
ebrary is an online collection of books spanning multiple subject areas. You can also create a personal ebrary account which allows you to create a personal online bookshelf, save bookmarks within a book, annotate pages, and highlight specific passages for later reference. To view ebrary books you must install the ebrary Reader software. If the software isn't installed on the PC you are using, you will be prompted "Click here to download plugin" when you view a book. If the reader doesn't install automatically, use the "download ebrary Reader" link on the ebrary home page to install it.
Google Book Search > Neuroscience
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.Clicking on a book result, you'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors.
National Academies Press > Biology and Life Sciences
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. More than 3,000 books are available free online.
NCBI - Bookshelf (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
The Bookshelf can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts: when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections.
NetLibrary is the most comprehensive collection of online eBooks and resource materials available. Using NetLibrary, you can access a wide range of scholarly and reference materials entirely online. To check out NetLibrary eBooks, you must create an account. UA users can create accounts and once you have a netLibrary account, you can use eBooks from any computer, regardless of its location. For more information about using NetLibrary, see their page on How to use NetLibrary, Search Tips, or their Help page.
Springer Online (Kluwer) > Neurosciences
Includes current and some back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Kluwer is now owned by Springer and access to former Kluwer journals is available from the Springer Web site.
Wiley Interscience > Life Sciences
Wiley Interscience provides access to electronic editions of approximately 150 journals published by John Wiley and Sons.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.
QP 11 .E53 1997 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
A complete source of information on the human organism. Each article is a comprehensive overview of a selected topic for readers ranging fro
Fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.
RC334 .E53 1999 Science Library
Alphabetical arrangement of short articles by experts in the field; has supplement.
RC 41 .M34 2005 Science Ref
Overview of the medical field - articles focus on specific disorders and afflictions, some on the basic conditions of life.
Dictionaries
R121 .T182 1997 Science Library
Covers terminology in medicine, nursing and allied health fields. Includes supplementary information such as symptoms, etiology, treatment, prognosis, and nursing applications. Includes synonyms, and caution notes for drug entries.
BF311 .V56713 2004 Main Library
RC 334 .A96 1995 Science Library
A glossary of terms to deal with basic biological and neurological concepts.
QH302.5 .M382 2003 Science Library
Each definition, including acronyms and abbreviations, is identified by the field of primary use. Includes pronunciation.
R121 .S8 2006 Law Ref
R121 .S8 1995 Science Library
Includes anatomy terms (Latin & English), a Wordfinder to help locate multi-word terms, color illustrations, diagrams; other good resources at front and back of the book.
Handbooks
Comprehensive Molecular Insect Science Online
Covers physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, behavior, and control of insects. Audience includes research workers, teachers, and students of insect science / entomology, developmental biology and molecular biology. Full-text online version of the 2004 revised, expanded and re-titled 7 volume print set, "Comprehensive Insect Physiology, Biochemistry and Pharmacology," originally published in 1985.
NOTE: Users must register for a free CambridgeSoft membership account to use the Merck Index online.
RS75 .P5 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
Software @ Information Commons
MATLAB
(Available at Main Library IC, Science-Engineering Library IC, & Fine Arts Library IC.)
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest)
Index of North American PhD dissertations back to 1865, with PDF full text since about 1997.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 19 Oct 14:28
