Search & Find
Astronomy
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Web Resources
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Background Information
This page has been designed for undergraduate and graduate students studying Astronomy to provide quick access to information about library services and resources.
BOOKS
To locate a book: use Exact Search if you have an exact title or author name and use Keyword Search if you are searching with keywords.
A catalog of records for all types of material cataloged by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for books, journals, software, etc. created last week. This database is updated daily.
DICTIONARIES & THESAURI
TL788 .A53 1999 Science Library
TL509 .G86 1988 Science Ref
QB14 .M55 2001 Science Ref
QB14 .I53 2001 Science Ref
3,400 essential terms and their definitions covering every discipline of astronomy. Plus synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations.
A guide to astronomy terminology. Useful for finding the most precise search terms for a topic.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
QB14 .A873 1992 Science Ref
A summary of current knowledge of astronomy and astrophysics.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics (online)
QB14 .E54 2001 Science Ref
The largest single reference source in astronomy and astrophysics containing more than 2,750 entries.
QB15 .H624 1997 Science Ref
Information from the beginning of the scientific revolution to present, historical overviews, time and time keeping instruments, calendars, telescopes and extensive references.
QB44.2 .I45 2001 Science Ref
Popular coverage of astronomy and cosmology.
HANDBOOKS
QB843. B75 B74 1982 Science Ref
This catalog provides tabularized data on stars having HR numbers.
QB64 .B85 1978 Science Ref
An observer's guide to the universe beyond the solar system. Covers constellations from Andromeda to Vulpecula with positions and diagrams, a constellation index, and an atlas reference table.
TL788 .D37 2003 Science Library
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Includes substance/property search feature.
QB64 .I54 2001 Science Ref
Astronomy observers' manual of the deep sky.
QB64 .P37 2000 Science Ref
Astronomy observers' manual of stars, planets, asteroids, comets, and meteors.
Reference for space astronomy and astrophysics.
TL151 .S62 1987-1989, 1991-2005 Science Library
QB1 .S775 2001 Science Ref
Directory of observatories and societies.
TL512 .A63 Latest issues in Science Ref / Earlier issues in Science stacks
SOFTWARE @ INFORMATION COMMONS (IC)
Information Commons - Software - Class Software - Math, Science, Engineering
MATLAB
Astronomy-related sofware
- Astrometry of Asteroids
- Dying Stars and the Birth of the Elements
- Flow of Energy Out of the Sun
- Hubble Redshift Distance Relation
- Large-Scale Structure of the Universe
- Photoelectric Photometry of the Pleiades
- Radio Astronomy of Pulsars
- Revolution of the Moons of Jupiter
- Rotation Rate of Mercury
- Quest for Object X
- Solar Energy
- Starry Night Enthusiast
- Stellar Spectra Classification
- Transits of Venus and Mercury
- Voyager SkyGazer College Edition
(Available at Main Library IC, Science-Engineering Library IC, & Fine Arts Library IC.)
DISSERTATIONS & THESES
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest)
Index of North American PhD dissertations back to 1865, with PDF full text since about 1997
TABLES, DATA & CALCULATORS
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 26 Oct 14:49
