Search & Find
Music
- General Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Finding Books
- Finding Dissertations
- Finding Songs
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Genres
- Musical Instruments
- Web Resources
- General Research Tools & Guidelines
- Course & Departmental Home Pages
Dictionaries
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
One volume dictionary of musical terms. Useful for finding concise definitions. Does not include information on composers.
Comprehensive and scholarly German language encyclopedia. New edition. Older edition at Music Reference ML 100.M92. Numerous volumes.
Useful for finding definitions of musical terms as well as concise biographical information on composers. Includes some in-depth articles.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive English language source for information about world music and the field of ethnomusicology. Organized by geographical region. Each volume is indexed. Vol. 10 is a comprehensive index.
Terminorum musicae index septem linguis redactus = Polyglottes Wörterbuch der musikalischen Terminologie = Polyglot dictionary of musical terms
Terms in German, English, French, Italian, Spanish, Hungarian, and Russian
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
Includes entries on individuals, operas, opera houses, national opera traditions and opera-related terms.
Music Dictionary Online.
Explains words and terms found in musical scores, books about music, web sites on music, notes on CDs or in concert programmes. Includes a composers dictionary .
Research Guides & Bibliographies
Oxford Dictionary of Music
A quick reference source for music. Contains entries for musical terms and instruments, brief biographies of composers, performers, and entries on individual compositions.
A Dictionary of Musical Themes
A thematic catalog. Contains 10,000 themes from the classical repertoire. Arranged by composer. Includes a title index.
Encyclopedias
Oxford Music Online
Includes the full text with updates of both Grove Music Online and Oxford Music Online. Oxford Music Online is the new gateway through which users can access an expanding range of Oxford's premier music resources, including the relaunched Grove Music Online and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Covers a wide variety of popular genres, with emphasis on individuals and performing groups.
Sourcebook for Research in Music
Also at ML113 .C68 2005 Fine Arts Reference.
Selective guide to music reference and research materials.
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Provides comprehensive treatment of terminology and theory, articles on instruments, individual performers and styles of jazz, among other topics.
HIistories & Chronologies
Music analyses : an annotated guide to the literature
Includes English language analytical sources dealing with music of all periods
Music Ref. ML 161.M16. Day by day listing of events in classical music.
Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography
This comprehensive research guide provides descriptions of dictionaries, thematic catalogs, discographies and other print or electronic resources. A very useful tool for finding more specific reference works in all genres of music, with a heavy emphasis on Western art music.
Chronology of Western Classical Music
Music Ref. ML 161 .H227 2 vols.
Reader's Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism.
Consists of a series of essays that describe and evaluate the critical monographic literature in English on a wide variety of topics in music.
A History of Western Music
Music Ref. ML 160 G872 2001. The standard music history text, edited by Donald Jay Grout and Claude V. Palisca, now in it's 6th edition.
Research In Music Education
Introduces graduate students to basic concepts of research with the intent of developing skills for critical analysis.
Oxford HIstory of Western Music
Music ReferenceML160 .T18 2005 6 volumes. Scholarly, in-depth and comprehensive mulit-volume set.
Timelines of Composers
This list presents some 1100 composers arranged into a timeline based purely on their date of birth. For convenience sake, the list has been divided into nine sections with general, and somewhat arbitrary, descriptive headings.
World Chronology of Music History
usic Ref. ML 161 .E4 6 vols
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 09 Jan 19:02
