Search & Find
Music
- Getting Started
- Articles
- Books and Dissertations
- Songs
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Genres
- Musical Instruments
- Web Resources
- Online Listening Services
- Cite Sources
Miscellaneous Web Resources
General Music Resource Mega-Sites:
The American Music Center Founded in 1939 by Marion Bauer, Aaron Copland, Howard Hanson, Otto Luening, Harrison Kerr, and Quincy Porter, the original mission, as created by these six composers, performers, publishers, and educators was:...to foster and encourage the composition of contemporary (American) music and to promote its production, publication, distribution and performance in every way possible throughout the Western Hemisphere.The site includes an online library of over 60,000 works by over 6,000 composers, an artist and industry directory as well as a calendar of upcoming performances across the US and abroad.
American Music Resource The American Music Resource ( AMR ) provides a multi-dimensional source of reference information about all styles of music indigenous to the Western Hemisphere.The collection houses over 800 bibliographies, lists and files, and is indexed below by topic (genre and style subdivisions) and subject (individuals - mostly composers).
The Center for Computer Research in Music Acoustics The Stanford University Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics is a multi-disciplinary facility where composers and researchers work together using computer-based technology both as an artistic medium and as a research tool.
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project -- (Special Collections, The University of California at Santa Barbara). "On this site you will have the opportunity to find out more about the cylinder format, listen to thousands of musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and discover a little-known era of recorded sound."
Music suitable for printing can be found in many places on the web, in a dizzying array of formats. Some of these formats can be viewed in any browser, while others require special plug-in software. This page is a guide to some of the most commonly found music printing formats on the web. Free Printable Music on the Web A Guide to Internet Resources
Indiana University Music Library (WWW Sites for Musicology) This music resource list is offered as a service of the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University .
The International Association of Music Information Centres A world-wide network of organisations promoting new music. The reach of this network is wide, with 42 members in 36 countries (2005).
Internet Public Library Music Reference Resources. The Internet Public Library (IPL), is a public service organization and learning/teaching environment at the University of Michigan School of Information.
Librarian's Internet Index: Music . A very reliable, up-to-date, mega-site with links to music of all kinds.
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia. This Web site invites visitors to experience the diversity of American performing arts through the Library of Congress's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials.
Library of Congress Recorded Sound Reference Center The Recorded Sound Reference Center provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress. The collection dates from 1926 when Victor Records donated over 400 discs to the Library's Music Division to supplement its print and manuscript holdings. In the custody of the Motion Picture Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division since 1978, the collection has grown to include over 2 million items encompassing audio formats from cylinders to CDs. The holdings complement the field recordings of the American Folklife Center and the moving image collections served in the Motion Picture and Television Reading Room .
Music Library Reference Desk - Internet Resources (University of Washington)This page offers music resources and major research databases recommended by University of Washington music librarians.
Musical America Online Online music news service.The site is divided into three sections, Industry News, Directory Articles, and Listings, and includes both subscriber-based and free areas.
Research Centers for American Music A guide to various special collections of music held around the country.
Sibelius Academy Music Resources (Sibelius Academy, Finland) Mega-site that provides links to other music sitesrepresenting a variety of genres. These include, for example, opera, pop, jazz and sacred.
Awards, Competitions
Chopin Foundation of the United States (home of the International Chopin Competition.
Pulitzer Prize (general)
Commercial Music including Copyright
The Commercial World of Music (Indiana University) - Includes agents, music publishers, record labels and producers, reviews, etc.
Copyright Resource Center(Music Publishers' Association)
Kohn on Music Licensing - "...a free resource for anyone who has questions about Copyright Law and Licensing Music for use and distribution over the World Wide Web." Hosted by Bob Kohn, Al Kohn, and Matt Kohn, authors of book with same title, this site includes many links to other organizations, copyright and licensing information.
Music in the Public Domain/The Public Domain Information Project - "provides a list of musical titles and authors which are solidly documented to be among the authentic body of public domain materials that belong to all of us."
When works pass into the Public Domain - Handy chart for determining length of copyright protection, based on publication date.
United States Copyright Office, Library of Congress
U.S. Copyright Office Forms (in PDF format)
Search Copyright Records: Registrations and Documents Includes books, music, sound recordings, serials, etc., from 1978 on.
W.A.T.C.H " WATCH is a database of copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent people in other creative fields. It is a joint project of the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center and the University of Reading Library in England. Founded in 1994 as a resource principally for copyright questions about literary manuscripts held in the U.S. and the U.K., it has now grown into one of the largest databases of copyright holders in the world."
Discography
Allmusic.com All genres and styles of music are covered here, ranging from the most commercially popular to the most obscure. We critique albums and artists within the context of their own genres - from opera to garage rock to traditional country.
Allrecordlabels.com A database of over 18,500 record label web sites indexed by genre, format, and location.
CD Universe - "CD Universe has over 200,000 items to choose from ... Compact Discs, Cassette Tapes, Compact Discs Singles, Cassette Tape Singles and VHS music videos." (Items available for purchase.)
Compact Disc Connection - Offers access to "more than 190,000 imports, domestic releases, and hard to find compact discs." (Items available for purchase.)
Web Resources for Out of Print Recordings A list of online vendors that specialize in selling and/or finding out of print recordings.
Electronic Journal Lists
Music E-Journals and Magazines (Indiana University list) - A comprehensive list
Electronic Music:
Film Music and Movie Soundtracks
Classics from the Silver Screen - an alphabetical index (by movie title) of classical and opera music which has appeared in films. Lists the title of the movie, the composer, and the name of the musical piece.
Internet Movie Database Soundtracks Section Search
SoundtrackNet - The Art of Film and Television Music
Humor, jokes
MIDI Files:
Music Jobs
MENC Job Center (Music Educators National Conference)
Music Library Association Job Placement Service.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This is an online product that provides an overview ofemployment conditions, earnings and other information related to careers in the music industry and related fields.
Musicians and Performing Groups
Groups and Ensembles (Except Popular) (Indiana University list) - Arranged by type of performing group, then by name.
Individual Musicians (All Genres) and Popular Groups (Indiana University list) - Popular section arranged alphabetically by name of artist. Classical section arranged by musical instrument played, plus sections for composers, conductors and singers.
Other Sites Related to Performance (Indiana University list) - Listings for competitions, ethnic and national music, festivals, location-specific information, musical instruments, music jobs, reviews, etc.
Obituaries of contemporary Composers and Musicians:
Gaylord Music Library Necrology (Washington University, St. Louis)
Publishers and vendors
Arsis Press: Music by Women Composers
Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers
Harrassowitz - Music Service - German library vendor of European music scores and other publications.
MPA Directory of Music Publishers"The Music Publishers' Association (MPA) Directory of Music Publishers is comprised of a current directory of music publishers and an index of publishers' imprints with hypertext links to entries in the directory of publishers." A text version of the directory is also available for downloading.
Multicultural Media World Music Store
Editions Orphée Home Page (Guitar and lute music)
Pepper Music Network - Large vendor of printed music.
Edition Peters (London and New York)
G. Schirmer/Associated Music Publishers, Inc.
Music Book World Music Book World carries thousands of new, used, and out of print music books in many genres such as jazz, blues, classical and world, and sheet music for over 30 instruments. Free and secure online ordering, and worldwide delivery.
Music Selection Resources on the WWW - Resources for development of music library collections.
Sheet Music Plus Carries huge inventory of sheet music, song books, scores, methods, and more.
Smith Publications & Sonic Arts Editions: Sylvia Smith Archive S (Univ. of Akron)
Stanton's Sheet Music The second largest educational sheet music retailer in the United States. We are a full-service sheet music store serving the needs of amateur and professional musicians worldwide.
Freehand Music (digital music publisher and on-line sheet music store). Publishes sheet music on demand.
Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc. The oldest established sheet music and music book dealer in the West. This site provides easy access to performing and study music editions as well as historical, biographical and theoretical monographs (books).Lists new book and music titles published world-wide since 1994.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: November 16, 2012 12:45
