Search & Find
Atmospheric Sciences
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Background Information
This guide is designed for students and researchers engaged in subject specific-research in Atmospheric Sciences. If you need only a few articles or books on a topic in atmospheric sciences for a NATS or writing class you will probably find what you need by using one or more of the Popular all-purpose Databases and/or searching the Library Catalog by keyword.
Books
To find background books, including conference proceedings, on atmospheric sciences, try the subject headings below.
Also, try searching the Library Catalog using keywords and then selecting subject headings of useful books to find similar publications.
Encyclopedias
QC 854 A48 2003 Science Reference
Covers all aspects of the atmospheric sciences in six volumes containing 340 articles and 1900 figures and photographs.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
QC 854 A45 2002 Science Reference
Includes 4,000 cross-referenced entries and nearly 300 maps, charts, diagrams and photographs. Provides information about how the weather is caused by different processes.
QC 981 W67 v. 1-16 Science Reference
Volumes 1-3 of this series cover general climatological information, with extensive bibliographies following each article. Subsequent volumes specialize in topics such as "Climates of the Oceans" and "Future Climates of the World."
Dictionaries
Atmospheric-Related Sciences Glossaries
Created by the NOAA Central Library, this source links to more than two dozen glossaries including climate, clouds, global change, and other weather terms.
also in print at QC 981.8 C5 M38 Science Reference
A dictionary of relatively short definitions for climate and weather-related terms.
QC 854 L83 1994 Science Reference
This source lists common meteorological and climatological terms in English, Spanish, Italian, French, Portuguese, and German for translation. Contents are indexed by language, and the book also includes temperature conversion tables.
QC 854 G55 Science Reference
Provides short definitions of important terms in meteorological literature, with cross references for locating synonyms.
Handbooks
QC 861 B43 Science Reference
Includes tables of wind data, temperature data, atmospheric statistics, and a section of meteorological mathematics and calculations. Explanations of thermometers, wind instruments and meteorological concepts are also given
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 26 Oct 15:39
