Search & Find
Europe - Medieval History: 450-1450
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Historical Sources
- Primary Resources
- Archives & Catalogs
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Finding Primary Resources
What are primary sources? Finding Primary Sources on the Web? Evaluating primary sources
An instructional page about how to identify, find and evaluate primary sources.
UA Library Catalog
Guide
Find out which books, journals, videos, or other items the library owns.
ARTstor
Guide
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is:
- A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data
- The tools to actively use those images; and
- A restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
Library of Latin Texts
Full text of Christian Latin texts from the Roman period through the medieval period, including such major
authors as Augustine, Jerome, and Gregory the Great as well as Neo-Latin Literature (1501-1965), including Reformation
and Counter-Reformation texts and modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II.
A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities, 500-1600
Medieval and Early Modern Period Historical Sources
A guide to the sources in the UA Library.
Medieval Imaginations: Literature and Visual Culture in the Middle Ages
From Cambridge University, England. 'Medieval Imaginations' provides a database of images to
enable you to explore the interface between the literature and visual culture of medieval England. It has been compiled to provide images corresponding to the main episodes dramatized in the English Mystery Plays, because these present the medieval view of human history from the Creation to the Last Judgement. These biblical stories, and images related to them, would have been instantly recognisable to a medieval audience.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica.
The free online version is not complete, being updated. The text is in OCR which may contain some character recognition errors, but is considered to be of excellent value for historians. The Library has these in paper format as well.
Patrologia Latina Database
The works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Z6517 .F3 Main Reference
1943-1967 Z6517 F47 Main Reference
A guide to the sources in the UA Library.
DC60 .F70 1977
Acts of the French Kings from 755 -1270. Digital version available through Google Books .
CD1196 1958 Acts of the French Kings from 1297-1320.Digital version available through Google Books
Micro fiche no. 27.Digital version available through Google Books
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar with worldwide coverage.
Maps are also primary sources. To find maps -
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: October 17, 2011 17:48
