Search & Find
Law
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Law & Documents Resources
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Encyclopedias
Guide to American Law: Everyone's Legal Encyclopedia
Includes extensive cross-reference to both the entries and the signed articles. Other features include: table of legal abbreviations, table of acronyms, table of cases cited, map showing the judicial circuits, table of popular names for acts, name index, and subject index.
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System
Includes both substance of American law and the process that produces and utilizes legal principles and rules. Although some of the subjects discussed are technical and difficult, the essays included here provide enough information to guide the reader without legal training.
Encyclopedia of Public International Law
This encyclopedia comprises some 1,300 articles dealing with all aspects of public international law. Online access available in the College of Law
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
This source offers the specialists and the lay users with a broad coverage of information from a variety of disciplines in a way that provides structure and context to the fields covered.
Encyclopedia of Legal Information Sources
A bibliographic guide to approximately 29,000 citations for publications, organizations, and other sources of information on 480 law-related subjects. Older edition (1988) in Main Library
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage
This is an excellent source for defining foreign terms and phrases, technical terms, expressions, and other usage of legal terminology in a logical manner. Also in Main Library (1995 edition) and Law Library (2001 edition)
This reference book is compiled to assist judges, lawyers, and students of the law convey their thoughts, arguments, and contentions, effectively and persuasively.
Oxford dictionary of American Legal Quotations
This source is the most complete compilation with over 3,500 quotations. It includes a comprehensive collection of the most famous passages of American judges and legal commentators and sayings from literature, humor, motion pictures, and even some song lyrics relating to American law.
Other Reference Sources
Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names: Federal and State
This is an alphabetical list of federal and state acts and cases which have been cited by popular names.
RefLaw: The Virtual law Library Reference Desk
(Washburn Univ.)
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: September 11, 2012 10:07
