Search & Find
United States History
- Background Information
- Finding Articles & Databases
- Primary Resources
- State Histories
- Historical Government Documents
- Finding Newspapers
- Archives & Catalogs
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Presidential Papers
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
Research Help for History Majors
Librarians have created a page of interactive tutorials, guides, and websites that support the History major. View Research Help for History Majors.
Background Information
Blackwell Reference Online
A group of handbooks and guides in the areas of Anthropology, Art, Business and Management, Classics, Communication and Media Studies, Cultural Studies, Economics, Gender Studies, Geography, History, Linguistics, Literature , Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Race and Ethnicity Studies, Religion and Sociology. The largest collections are in Business and Economics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy and Religion.
A good source for short articles on American history. (Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library.)
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes full text of a variety of print Gale reference sources.
After logging in, click on "Title List" for a complete list of included titles. A few of the available titles are:
Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students , 4v, 2002
Americans at War , 4v, 2005
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras , 5v, 2005
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America , 6v, 2000
College Blue Book , 32nd Ed., 6v, 2005
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict , 2v, 2005
Encyclopedia of Aging , 4v, 2002
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy , 2nd Ed., 3v, 2002
Encyclopedia of American Industries , 4 Ed., 2v, 2005
Encyclopedia of American Religions , 7th Ed., 2003
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion , 3v, 2005
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity , 3v, 2005
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa , 2nd Ed., 4v,
2004
Encyclopedia of World Biography , 2 Ed., 23v, 1998
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce , 2v, 2002
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America , 2nd Ed., 3v, 2000
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History , 2v, 1999
Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans , 21st Ed., 2004
Vietnam War Reference Library , 5v, 2001
Clio Notes a part of America History & Life
Use the section titled "Clio Notes" at the top of their search page- links to chronologies and short descriptions of historical events of the periods covered.
D11.M39 1999 Information Commons Reference
A year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Covers social, political, artistic, and technological events. Indexed by name, title, place and event.
Citation Guides for Print & Electronic Resources
from the UA Library
Examples of citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles, as well as links to subject specific citation styles.
Writing Assistance: UA Department of History
UA History Department Web site with information about writing a research paper for history courses. Created especially to assist students in INDV and TRAD history courses.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 27 Mar 16:52
