Search & Find
United States History
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Primary Resources
- Government Documents
- Newspapers
- Archives
- Facts & Figures
- Cite Sources
Primary Sources
What are primary sources? Finding Primary Sources on the Web? Evaluating primary sources.
An instructional page about how to identify, find and evaluate primary sources.
Search for interviews, personal narratives, statistics, diaries, correspondence, biographies, archives.
Maps are also primary sources. To find locally owned maps search for country or region name (subject) and maps (subject).
See also:
- David Rumsey Collection (online)
- Perry Casteneda Library Map Collection (online)
Selected Primary Sources
American Civil War Letters and Diaries
An extensive range of diaries, letters, and memoirs of persons involved in the American Civil War.
Documenting the American South
Includes first person narratives of the south, North American slave narratives and a library of the American South.
Index of letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies that are freely available on the Web or in library databases. Note that the library may not subscribe to all the databases this resource indexes.
Microfilm collections of primary documents at the University of Arizona Library.
- History Microform Collections
- State Histories Microform Collections - search the library catalog for the state as subject and the location main microform.
- Presidential Papers Microform Collections - note; search the library catalog for the president's name as subject, the keyword "papers," and the location main microform.
Selected Image Sources
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Over 400,000 contemporary and selected historical images from the archive of the Associated Press.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: August 09, 2012 09:49
