Search & Find
English Language Literature
- Get Started
- Literary Criticism
- Middle Ages & Renaissance
- Shakespeare
- Primary Documents & Full Text Sources
- Book Reviews
- Companion Guides & Plot Summaries
- Biographical Sources
- Poetry Sources
- Cite Sources
Background Information
PN 41 B4 1996 Main Reference
Includes information for the general reader on writers, literary movements, works, historical perspectives, etc.
PN98.W64 E53 1997 Main Reference
A dictionary of feminist literary criticism.
PN 771 E5 1981 Main Reference
Includes information on individual writers, literary movements, and national literatures.
Z2011 .H34 2008 Main Library (Reference)
The 5th edition of this classic research guide by James L. Harner "evaluates important reference materials in English studies...This edition contains more than 1,000 entries, which discuss an additional 1,555 books, articles, and electronic resources and cite 723 reviews."
6th edition.PR56 .B34 2006 Main Library.
Baker, Nancy L. and Nancy Huling.
Student guide for conducting library research for term papers and theses.
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
"Comprehensive coverage of literatures of the world." Includes information on literary characters, plot summaries, terminology, etc.
Print version available at PN 41 M42 1995 Main Reference.
PS21 .H3 Main Reference
Short summaries of biographical information, important works, definitions, and literary movements, by alphabetical arrangement.
PR19 .D73 Main Reference
Designed to "quickly, easily and clearly satisfy the immediate curiosity of the...reader."
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Edited by Jay Parini, this online encyclopedia consists of 350 essays from leading scholars covering the range of American literary history from the 1600s to present.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Edited by David Scott Kastan, this online encyclopedia consists of 500 entries that provide comprehensive coverage of the history of British literature.
Oxford English Dictionary online
Guide
Contains the complete text of the OED's 20-volume Second Edition. The Oxford English Dictionary is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 A.D. up to the present day. A wide variety of English dialects are included.
Print equivalent available at PE1625 .O87 1989 Main Reference.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: November 28, 2012 13:44
