Search & Find
Journalism
- Background Information & Reference Sources
- Research Guides
- Finding Scholarly Articles
- Finding News Sources
- Law of the Press
- Facts & Figures
- Public Records
- People & Organizations
- Selected Reference Resources for Journalism Students
Background Information & Reference Sources
Encyclopedias:
Covers all forms of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. Articles have been written by scholars and journalists and cover topics from design, editing, and advertising, to libel, censorship, and First Amendment rights, to digital manipulation, media hoaxes, political cartoonists, and secrecy and leaks. Also includes a listing of journalism awards and prizes, a lengthy section on journalism freedom around the world, an annotated bibliography, and key documents.
Over 400 articles covering seven major themes, from Associations & Organizations; Historical Overview & Practice; Individuals; Journalism in American History; Laws, Acts & Legislation; Print, Broadcast, Newsgroups, and Corporations; and Technologies.
Also available online through NetLibrary .
P92.U5 H55 1998 Info Commons Ref
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Contains thousands of entries, from short descriptions to in-depth articles, covering the broad field of communication studies. Sections include journalism, media law, communication & technology, international communication, media economy, media history, political communication, research methods, and many more.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral
Over 4,000 articles about topics in the social and behavioral sciences. Brief biographies of people in the
fields covered only if they were born before 1890.
Articles covering the whole range of social and behavioral sciences; includes biographies. Print edition also available at H41 I58 2001 Main Ref
Covers broad range of scholarly articles in the social sciences, including biographies of key figures. Completely revises and updates the 1968 edition (found at H40 .A2 I5 Main).
Other Reference Sources:
Essential Reference Sources for a News Library
listing from the Special Libraries Association (SLA) News Division of important reference sources for news researchers.
Selected Reference Resources for Journalism Students
list of print and online reference sources from the UA Library useful to journalism students/reporters.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 09 Jan 19:00
