Research, Write, Publish
- Get Started
- Find Scholarly Articles
- Find News Sources
- Facts & Figures
- Public Records
- Law of the Press
- People & Organizations
- Selected Reference Resources for Journalism Students
- Cite Sources
Affiliated with Harvard Law School and the Center for Citizen Media. This Web site includes a legal guide with information on legal rights and responsibilities; a legal threats database that includes information on lawsuits, subpoenas, and other "legal threats" related to online speech; links to legal dictionaries, and more.
"A research initiative of the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard Law School." Includes a Publications section with reports produced by the Center on topics such as educational use of copyrighted material and online music business; a Research section covering several areas: patent law, education, media exchange, and more.
Defamation: Slander/Libel Elements and Defenses
Contains resources on definitions and background information of the issue, recent defamation cases around the world, and links to useful defamation texts and websites.
Sponsored by the Electronic Frontiers Foundations and various law school clinics, this site "aims to help you understand the protections that the First Amendment and intellectual property laws give to your online activities."
Search for referenced statutes for federal, state and international trademark laws.
World Intellectual Property
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the use and protection of works. Covers issues of trademarks, copyright and related rights, emerging issues and news, intellectual property digital library and a collection of laws for electronic access.
This comprehensive site contains resources on Intellectual Property law; governing the use of trademarks and copyrights.
Public Records & Open Meetings
Media Law Around the World
Contains information about the media in several countries in Europe. It gives an overview of the press, main features of media policies, professional organizations, and recent media developments.
Includes a Media Law Resource Library that includes "an index of documents, forms, guides, briefs, case law, books, and other publications related to media law across a wide range of regions and topics."
From the International Federation of Journalists (IFJ) and the Centre for Law and Democracy (CLD), this online handbook "sets out international standards regarding media freedom and assesses the extent to which the legal regimes governing the media in Arab countries conform to those standards."
Freedom of Information/Open Government
From the Society of Professional Journalists’ Web site, this section provides “resources for journalists and the public on issues involving access to government records and activities of freedom of information education.”
Sunshine Week is an initiative that focuses on the importance of freedom of information and open government. This part of their site links to Web sites about Freedom of Information and open government issues.
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Guide
From the Department of Justice.
Annual FOIA Reports
Annual FOIA reports submitted by federal agencies and departments. Includes reports back to 1998.
FOIA: Federal Agencies' FOIA Web sites
Links to federal agencies' FOIA Web sites
National Freedom of Information Coalition - State & Federal Resources
Guide to open meetings and open records laws. Also see Tapping Officialsâ€™ Secrets in the Public Records section below.
Society of Environmental Journalists: Freedom of Information
Includes the WatchDog TipSheet ("focuses on freedom-of-information issues of concern to environmental journalists"), links to other Web resources, news, and more.
Radio-Television News Directors Association & Foundation: Freedom of Information
Court cases and other information related to radio and television news broadcasting & freedom of information.
FOI News from The Associated Press
AP news related to Freedom of Information and media access.
The National Security Archive
From George Washington University, "the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act...[and] serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics."
Site to help you track campaign finance.
A site that provides news about freedom of information and privacy issues.
First Amendment/Freedom of Speech
From the Freedom Forum, includes State of the First Amendment reports, daily First Amendment news, First Amendment Library with court cases, overviews and research about First Amendment freedoms like Freedom of the Press , and more.
Includes a Reading Room with articles about the First Amendment and more.
Freedom of Speech in the United States
Includes links to court decisions and other documents related to freedom of speech.
The Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression
Annually awards the Jefferson Muzzles, "to draw national attention to abridgments of free speech and press."
“Non-profit information clearinghouse originally organized...to monitor developments and promote First Amendment rights in the libel, privacy and related legal fields.” The “Public Resources” section of the site is open to non-members and includes information like Libel FAQs, the MLRC Bulletin, and links to other Web sites related to Freedom of the Press.
CPJ is an “independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to defending press freedom worldwide.” The site provides news about threats to press freedom and documents cases of attacks on the press, violations of press freedom, and journalists killed.
General sources of interest to journalists
Non-profit organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to journalists. Contains news media updates and “quick links” to a collection of recent media law news from other sources. Some back issues of their quarterly magazine, The News Media and the Law , are available on their site at http://www.rcfp.org/news/mag/index.php .
Contains links to internet resources of media law including issues of free access, privacy, censorship, and searching for media law resources and cases.
Foundation that focuses on the Newseum, the First Amendment, and newsroom diversity, their site contains articles related to free press and free speech, including a Supreme Court case tracker.
Federal Communications Commission Homepage
The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency, directly responsible to Congress. Contains recent headlines and press releases from the FCC as well as articles about the Freedom of Information Act, statistical reports and rules and regulations.
United States Copyright Office
Includes information on how to record a document as well as information on copyright law and policy.
Federal Communications Law Journal
The official journal for the Federal Communications Bar Association. Often features full-text articles by comminsioners in the FCC as well as members of Congress. Contains links to archived volumes of full-text articles, book reviews and commentaries focusing on communications issues.
Media Law Blogs
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: February 16, 2015 14:08