Search & Find
Optical Science
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Standards & Specifications
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- People & Organizations
Background Information
This page has been designed for undergraduate and graduate students studying Optical Science to provide quick access to information about library services and resources.
BOOKS
UA Library Catalog
Guide
Find out which books, journals, videos, or other items the library owns.
WorldCat
Guide
A catalog of records for all type of material cataloged
by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for
manuscripts written as early as the 12th century as
well as records for books, journals, software, etc.
created last week. This database is updated daily.
Interlibrary Loan service is available directly from WorldCat for
UA students, faculty and staff.
The RLG Union Catalog is no longer available. Please use
WorldCat instead.
Free version of the WorldCat database that can show nearby library holdings.
E-JOURNALS
from the Optical Society of America(OSA)
Optics InfoBase is OSA's online database of both current and past volumes of all its journals. It also contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.
Journals from the Optical Society of America:
Searchable index and full-text of the conference proceedings and journals of the International Society of Optical Engineering.
Contents of the SPIE Digital Library:
Starting at Volume 1200 (1990) *
Optical Engineering :
Starting at Volume 29 (1990)
Journal of Electronic Imaging :
Starting at Volume 1 (1992)
Journal of Biomedical Optics :
Starting at Volume 1 (1996)
Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS
Starting at Volume 1 (2002)
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing :
Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
Journal of Nanophotonics :
Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES
Covers all areas of optics, including both practical, as well as, theoretical topics. Appropriate for undergraduate and graduate stduents wanting to learn more abotu topics tha tfall outside of their area of expertise. (Also available in print as a 5 voume set in the Science-Engineering Library, Call #QC351.2 .E53 2005.)
Digital Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
Covers all relevant fields in physics, in particular optics, laser physics, solids, semiconductor, atom and nuclear physics, biophysics as well as all the neighboring fields of physics and engineering.
Encyclopedia of Optical Engineering
Covers technological advances and perspectives in optical engineering. Examines various topics, including digital image enhancement and restoration, biological modeling, biomedical spectroscopy, ocean optics, target detection, fiber optic sources, holography, lens design, classification and coding, optical biopsy, and radiometry.
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
HANDBOOKS
QC173 .A827 1996 Science Library Lots of handy information on theories, measurements, techniques and processes in the subdisciplines of Physics
QC176.8 O6 H36 1998 (5 vols.) Science Ref
A collection of references and tables of n and k values for a number of technological and physics interests, covering a wide spectral range, and including pertinent sources.
QC369 .H35 (4 vols.) Main Reference
Vol. 1. Fundamentals, techniques, and design
Vol. 2. Devices, measurements, and properties
Vol. 3. Classical Optics, Vision optics, and X-Ray optics
QC61 L332 Group III, vols. 38a and 38b Science Library
Landolt-BörnsteinSeries
Subvolume A : Refractive Indices of Inorganic, Organometallic, and Organononmetallic Liquids, and Binary Liquid Mixtures
Subvolume B : Refractive Indices of Organic Liquids
QC374.O66 Science Ref
CRC Handbook of Laser Science & Technology Vols. III-V (1986) and Supplement (1995)
TS511 U6 O67 44th 1998 Science Ref
Book 1 : The Phototonics Corporate Guide
Book 2 : The Phototonics Buyers' Guide
Book 3 : The Phototonics Design & Applications Handbook
Book 4 : The Phototonics Dictionary
QC374 N55 1997 Science Ref
Contains reference data on the properties of optical materials used in laser physics and quantum electronics.
DISSERTATIONS & THESES
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European
colleges and universities. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the
author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Includes full text of dissertations from 1996 to present.
NOTE: Some full text is not available due to restrictions placed by the author, patents pending or problems
regarding use of copyrighted material without permission.
SEARCH TIP FOR UA DISSERTATIONS:
Type "university of arizona" (with quotes) in the School name search box.
Or use the Current
Research @ University of Arizona subset of this database.
University of Arizona Electronic Theses and Dissertatio
Guide
The Electronic Theses and Dissertations database is the intellectual output of graduate students at the University of Arizona. The database allows for searching and browsing on all the topics. Coverage include theses and dissertations (2005 - ) approved by the Graduate college and masters' reports (2003 -) approved by College of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture in the Department of Geography and Regional Development at the University of Arizona.
TABLES, DATA & CALCULATORS
WRITING HELP TOOLS
With RefWorks you can:
- create your own personal database
- import references from your institution's databases
- automatically format your papers and bibliographies in seconds
To use RefWorks:
- Sign Up for an Individual Account
- Enter the appropriate information (a user creates their own personal login and password)
- Click on Register to open the program
- You are now ready to use the RefWorks program
A copy of your login name and password will be emailed to the address you entered in your user information.
Announcing the launch of RefWorks 2.0 beta release
RefWorks 2.0 is offered in a new user interface that takes advantage of the latest web technologies and contemporary design elements. Users can still use RefWorks Classic, however, a firm release will take place in the fall semester 2010! So don't delay.
To learn about the new interface, view this prerecorded webinar (58 min.; requires running WebEx to view)
For more detailed assistance, please see our RefWorks Guide.
Citation Guides for Print & Electronic Resources
Examples of citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles, as well as links to subject specific citation styles.
Writing Center
The English Department, University of Arizona
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 17 Jan 16:19
