Search & Find
Biological Sciences
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Writing & Presentation Resources
- Laboratory Practices
- Web Resources
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Funding & Career Opportunities
- Cite Sources
Background Information
BOOKS
Biological and biomedical literature from journal articles, technical notes and letters. Includes abstracts.
BIOSIS Previews contains the references to journal literature from Biological Abstracts, the references to meetings, reports, review articles, books and monographs from Biological Abstracts/RRM, as well as some unique references.
UA Library Catalog
Guide
Find out which books, journals, videos, or other items the library owns.
WorldCat
Guide
A catalog of records for all type of material cataloged
by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for
manuscripts written as early as the 12th century as
well as records for books, journals, software, etc.
created last week. This database is updated daily.
Interlibrary Loan service is available directly from WorldCat for
UA students, faculty and staff.
The RLG Union Catalog is no longer available. Please use
WorldCat instead.
Free version of the WorldCat database that can show nearby library holdings.
E-BOOKS
ebrary is an online collection of books spanning multiple subject areas. Direct access is available to the UA. You can also create a personal ebrary account which allows you to create a personal online bookshelf, save bookmarks within a book, annotate pages, and highlight specific passages for later reference.
Although you no longer need to install the ebrary Reader software just to view or search within ebrary books, you must install it in order to print and copy pages, highlight text, create and edit notes or use the features of the ebrary InfoTools. If the software isn't installed on the computer you are using, you should be prompted to install it when you click the blue "ebrary Reader" button at the top of the screen. If the reader doesn't install automatically, click the Help button on upper right, and look in either the Windows or Mac OS X section of "Installing the ebrary Plug-in Reader".
Biological Sciences on ebrary
Google Book Search - Biological Sciences
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them. Clicking on a book result, you'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors.
National Academies Press - Biological Sciences
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. More than 3,000 books are available free online.
(National Center for Biotechnology Information) The Bookshelf can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts: when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections. (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Springer Journals & eBooks
Includes current and some back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Kluwer is now owned by Springer and access to former Kluwer journals is available from the Springer Web site.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Wiley Interscience) now contains all the content formerly available on Blackwell Synergy.
Note: Only issues listed with an "open padlock" icon are included in the UA subscription.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
QH 332 .E52 1995 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
"...moral dimentions of the life sciences and health care..." Articles on topics ranging from animal research to social medicine.
QH 540.4 .E52 1995 Science Library
Articles reflect important areas in the study of the environment, ranging from public and research interest to environmental law. Each entry has an outline, glossary, cross references and bibliography. Subject index in last volume.
QP 11 .E53 1997 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
A complete source of information on the human organism. Each article is a comprehensive overview of a selected topic for readers ranging from general public to research professionals. Use the Index for best access.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Unique online encyclopedia for the life sciences. Integrates
current theory, practice and understanding of all basic and many applied
aspects of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on cell and
molecular biology and its relevance to medicine.
QR 9 .E53 1992 Science Library
Focus is on microorganisms; articles include sources for further investigation.
RA1193 .E53 2005 Science Ref
QR 358 .E53 1999 Science Ref
The largest comprehensive reference source of current virological information available.
QL 3 .G7813 Science Library
13 volume set covering animal life from the 1-celled to the musk ox. Entries include in depth descriptions of life history, colored plates, line drawings, maps, etc. Each volume ends with a review of the classificat in system, translation dictionary of animal names, and a supplemental reading list.
Q 121 .M3 2002 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref Articles begin with a definition, give a brief overview of a topic, then develop the topic more fully. Index is Vol. 20.
DICTIONARIES
QK 9 .C67 1992 Science Ref
Short definitions, brief biographical entries, descriptions of taxonomic groups, cross references.
QH 575 .D5 1995 Science Library
Updated edition; broadens out to cover new areas in molecular biology and neurobiology. Includes tables: CD antigens, fatty acids, G proteins, etc.
QH 427 .K55 2002 Science Library
Includes definitions of abbreviations, acronyms, and terms encountered in the genetics literature. Many illustrations, chemical formulas, and tables. Appendices: classification of organisms, domesticated species, chronology of events, lists of periodicals and databases.
SB45 .D635 1994 Science Ref
A gardening reference - to help break the taxonomic and linguistic codes of the field.
TX 349 .D78 1996 Science Ref
Comprehensive source for practical nutrition topics, nutrients, nutrition and disease. Written in easy-to-understand language. Includes many charts, tables, and illustrations.
RC 334 .A96 1995 Science Library
A glossary of terms to deal with basic biological and neurological concepts.
QH302.5 .M382 2003 Science Library
Each definition, including acronyms and abbreviations, is identified by the field of primary use. Includes pronunciation.
R121 .S8 2006 Law Ref R121 .S8 1995 Science Library
Includes anatomy terms (Latin & English), a Wordfinder to help locate multi-word terms, color illustrations, diagrams; other good resources at front and back of the book.
SF 609 .B53 2001 Science Ref
Focuses on first-aid and preventive measures; includes techniques of interest to farmers.
HANDBOOKS
Comprehensive Molecular Insect Science Online
Covers physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, behavior, and control of insects. Audience includes research workers, teachers, and students of insect science / entomology, developmental biology and molecular biology. Full-text online version of the 2004 revised, expanded and re-titled 7 volume print set "Comprehensive Insect Physiology, Biochemistry and Pharmacology" originally published in 1985.
Merck Index - 14th Edition
A database of over 10,000 significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances, containing physical property data, safety data, literature references, and structures. The Merck Index also includes Organic Name Reactions, which describes organic chemical reactions which have come to be recognized and referred to by name within the chemistry community.
Users must register for a free CambridgeSoft membership account to install the ChemDraw plugin used for structure searching.
Anatomy & Medical Illustrations, from the Amer. Med. Assoc
QR 81 .A5 1994 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
9th edition - a reference aid for identification of bacteria that have been described and cultured.
QP 514.2 .K6613 2005 Science Ref
Concise and visual - focuses on the relationship between chemical structure and biological function in humans and other mammals.
QH 83 .M36 1998 Science Ref
Lots of illustrations, photos, and descriptive text to introduce the kingdoms and phyla from microbes to macroscopic organisms.
QH 46.5 .C54 1991 Science Library
Look under the common name to find a source for a picture of an animal or plant. The list of sources has been annotated with call numbers if the UA library owns it. Index for scientific names.
RC 41 .M34 2005 Science Ref
Overview of the medical field - articles focus on specific disorders and afflictions, some on the basic conditions of life.
QH 506 .M66155 1995 Science Library
More than 250 articles, designed as self-contained treatments of the important topics in molecular biology. Definitions and bibliography with each entry.
RS75 .P5 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
SOFTWARE @ INFO COMMONS (IC)
Information Commons - Software - Class Software - Math, Science, Engineering
( Available at Main Library IC, Science-Engineering Library IC, & Fine Arts Library IC.)
DISSERTATIONS & THESES
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Guide
Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European
colleges and universities. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the
author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Includes full text of dissertations from 1996 to present.
NOTE: Some full text is not available due to restrictions placed by the author, patents pending or problems
regarding use of copyrighted material without permission.
SEARCH TIP FOR UA DISSERTATIONS:
Type "university of arizona" (with quotes) in the School name search box.
Or use the Current
Research @ University of Arizona subset of this database.
University of Arizona Electronic Theses and Dissertatio
The Electronic Theses and Dissertations database is the intellectual output of graduate students at the University of Arizona. The database allows for searching and browsing on all the topics. Coverage include theses and dissertations (2005 - ) approved by the Graduate college and masters' reports (2003 -) approved by College of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture in the Department of Geography and Regional Development at the University of Arizona.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: November 02, 2012 11:02
