Search & Find
Theater Arts and Drama
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- The World of the Play
- Play Texts & Reviews
- Further Research
- Web Resources
- Course Pages
- Musical Theater
- People & Organizations
- Finding Books
- Stage Design and Costume
Background Information
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Research Guides
Chronologies and Histories
Main Ref. PN 1625 H62 1988
Definitions of terms used in the theatre and by theatre critics.
Main Ref. PN2035 .C27 1995.
Covers world theatre and includes entries for for individual countries, names of theatre personnel, theatres, acting companies, genres of theatre. and wide variety of terms. No entries for play titles included.
Main Library PN 1579 .M66 1999
Main Ref. PN2035 .P2913 1998.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Provides concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of topics. Useful as a starting point for basic information.
Main Ref. PN 2035 I49 1992
Vol. 1: Plays. Contains entries for over 620 plays, with a critical essay on each. Vol. 2: Playwrights. Major dramatists, with a summary of their lives, a list of works, and a list of critical studies about the playwrights. Vol. 3: Actors, directors, and designers. Brief biography with chronological list of performances.
Main Ref. PN2035 .I5 1985
Defines 10,000 English terms and 5,000 foreign terms. Covers all areas of drama, theatre production, acting technology, management, among others. Entries written by scholars in the field.
PN 1625 M3 1984 Main Reference
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984
Has biographies of dramatists, summaries of plays, and descriptions of national dramas covering the ancient Greeks and Romans to the twentieth century.
Main Ref. PN2220 .B6 2004
Provides paragraph length information for a wide range of terms used relating to theatre in the U.S.
Main Ref. PN2035 .O94 2003
2 vols. International in scope, includes definitions of terminology, biographies, concepts, theories and brief histories of theatre in some cities and countries. Includes a timeline of theatre history, a selective bibliography of important works related to theatre history. No plays are listed.
Theatrecrafts.com Glossary of Technical Theatre Terms
This online glossary, produced in Great Britain, contains over 1500 terms and is searchable in a number of ways.
Main Ref. PN1861 .W67 1994
6 volumes. Covers theatre in Europe, the Americas, Africa, the Arab world, and Asia/the Pacific since 1945--altogether 150 countries. Topics discussed for each country include theatre history, musical theatre, design,, criticism, theatre space and architecture, and further reading. Volume six includes an extensive bibliography and cumulative index.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 09 Jan 19:05
