Search & Find
Planning
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Master's Reports
- Map and Geospatial Resources
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Background Information
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture
Covers a wide range of topics constituting 100 years of architecture and planning. While a substantial portion of entries deal with architecture, planning issues are heartily represented.
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
Covers all areas of architecture including landscape architecture and planning.
Includes thematic essays and articles on 240 cities around the world.
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
Volume 1. - Theories and principles
Volume 2. - Cultures and habitats (Asia, East and Central Australasia and Oceania, Europe and Eurasia, Mediterranean and Southwest Asia)
Volume 3. - Cultures and habitats (Latin America, North America, Sub-Saharan Africa, Glossary, Lexicon, Bibliography, Indexes)
Other Resources
The Princeton Review Career Profiles
Describes "A Day in the Life" of a city planner, quality of life, and earning averages for city planners. Includes a national internship and career search features.
Fabulous resource for all things Planning. Self-identified as the Planning and Development Network. Look for jobs, read news articles, look for calls for papers, and don't forget to check out the Top 10 Web sites. You'll want to bookmark this one!
Cyburbia.org: Urban Planning Community
A very good guide from the University of Buffalo School of Architecture. It includes a search interface and descriptions of the various links in the fields of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture.
Squares: a Public Design Guide for Urbanists
Planning handbook to help designers, planners, public officials, students, developers, and community leaders understand the history and theories of public spaces.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: October 30, 2012 14:46
