Search & Find
Planetary Sciences
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Funding & Career Opportunities
- Student Services
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- Writing & Presentation Resources
- People & Organizations
Background Information
BOOKS
UA Library Catalog
Guide
Find out which books, journals, videos, or other items the library owns.
WorldCat
Guide
A catalog of records for all type of material cataloged
by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for
manuscripts written as early as the 12th century as
well as records for books, journals, software, etc.
created last week. This database is updated daily.
Interlibrary Loan service is available directly from WorldCat for
UA students, faculty and staff.
The RLG Union Catalog is no longer available. Please use
WorldCat instead.
E-BOOKS
ebrary is an online collection of books spanning multiple subject areas. You can also create a personal ebrary account which allows you to create a personal online bookshelf, save bookmarks within a book, annotate pages, and highlight specific passages for later reference. To view ebrary books you must install the ebrary Reader software. If the software isn't installed on the PC you are using, you will be prompted "Click here to download plugin" when you view a book. If the reader doesn't install automatically, use the "download ebrary Reader" link on the ebrary home page to install it.
Google Book Search > Planetary Sciences
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them. Try a search on Google Book Search or on Google.com. Clicking on a book result, you'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors.
National Academies Press - Space and Aeronautics
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. More than 3,000 books are available free online.
NetLibrary > Planetary Sciences
NetLibrary is the most comprehensive collection of online eBooks and resource materials available. Using NetLibrary, you can access a wide range of scholarly and reference materials entirely online. To check out NetLibrary eBooks, you must create an account. UA users can create accounts and once you have a netLibrary account, you can use eBooks from any computer, regardless of its location. For more information about using NetLibrary, see their page on How to use NetLibrary, Search Tips, or their Help page.
Springer Online (Kluwer) > Astronomy
Includes current and some back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Kluwer is now owned by Springer and access to former Kluwer journals is available from the Springer Web site.
Wiley Interscience > Planetary Sciences
Wiley Interscience provides access to electronic editions of approximately 150 journals published by John Wiley and Sons.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
QB14 .A873 1992 Science Ref
A summary of current knowledge of astronomy and astrophysics.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
The largest single reference source in astronomy and astrophysics
containing more than 2,750 entries. Each main article is signed by its
author and is followed by a selected bibliography of further reading.
Contains over 3,500 illustrations,charts,tables,figures,and graphs, plus
extensive cross-references,and a Name and Subject Index containing over
14,000 entries. Areas of coverage include active galaxies, astrometry,
astrophysical theory, atmospheres, binary stars, biography, clusters,
coordinates, cosmology, earth, education, galaxies, heliosphere, history,
interstellar medium, instrumentation, light, magnetosphere, matter,
planet earth, public impact, solar activity, solar heliosphere, solar
interior, solar systems, space, stellar astrophysics, stellar
populations, telescopes, and time.
QB14 .E54 2001 Science Ref
4 volume print edition (2001)
QB501 .E522 2000 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
QB600.2 .E53 1997 Science Ref
Offers comprehensive coverage of all major areas of earth sciences and the world's leading reference resources for the earth sciences community.
QB15 .H624 1997 Science Ref
Information from the beginning of the scientific revolution to present, historical overviews, time and time keeping instruments, calendars, telescopes and extensive references.
QB44.2 .I45 2001 Science Ref
Popular coverage of astronomy and cosmology.
DICTIONARIES
QB14 .M55 2001 Science Ref
One volume dictionary of astronomy.
QB14 .I53 2001 Science Ref
3400 essential terms and their definitions covering every discipline of astronomy. Plus synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations.
A guide to astronomy terminology, useful for finding the most precise search terms for a topic.
HANDBOOKS
QB461 .A7685 2000 Science Library
Comprehensive coverage of Astrophysics Tables.
QB64 .P37 2000 Science Ref
Astronomy observers' manual of stars, planets, asteroids, comets, meteors.
QB136 .Z65 1990 Science Library
Several chapters have links to related WWW resources.
QB601 .H34 1993 Science Ref
A contemporary view of the solar system, celestial mechanics, and the formation of stars, planets, satellites, meteorites, asteroids, comets and planetary surfaces.
SOFTWARE @ INFORMATION COMMONS (IC)
Information Commons > Software > Class Software > Math, Science, Engineering
MATLAB
Astronomy related sofware
- Astrometry of Asteroids
- Dying Stars and the Birth of the Elements
- Flow of Energy Out of the Sun
- Hubble Redshift Distance Relation
- Large-Scale Structure of the Universe
- Photoelectric Photometry of the Pleiades
- Radio Astronomy of Pulsars
- Revolution of the Moons of Jupiter
- Rotation Rate of Mercury
- Quest for Object X
- Solar Energy
- Starry Night Enthusiast
- Stellar Spectra Classification
- Transits of Venus and Mercury
- Voyager SkyGazer College Edition
(Available at Main Library IC, Science-Engineering Library IC, & Fine Arts Library IC.)
DISSERTATIONS & THESES
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European
colleges and universities. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the
author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Includes full text of dissertations from 1996 to present.
NOTE: Some full text is not available due to restrictions placed by the author, patents pending or problems
regarding use of copyrighted material without permission.
SEARCH TIP FOR UA DISSERTATIONS:
Type "university of arizona" (with quotes) in the School name search box.
Or use the Current
Research @ University of Arizona subset of this database.
University of Arizona Electronic Theses and Dissertatio
The Electronic Theses and Dissertations database is the intellectual output of graduate students at the University of Arizona. The database allows for searching and browsing on all the topics. Coverage include theses and dissertations (2005 - ) approved by the Graduate college and masters' reports (2003 -) approved by College of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture in the Department of Geography and Regional Development at the University of Arizona.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 22 Mar 17:33
