Search & Find
Religious Studies
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Find Source Documents
- Web Resources
- Course & Departmental Home Pages
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Background Information
Searchable database of the complete text of 13 versions of the Bible. Texts from different versions can be displayed at the same time.
E98.R3 H73 1992 Special Collections and Main Stacks; E98.R3 H73 2000 Info Commons. A useful introductory resource.
Oxford Islamic studies online
Contains more that 3,000 A-Z content and commentary entries by scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture.
Catholic Encyclopedia 1917 Edition
Authoritative work with long signed articles. Good for medieval literature, history, philosophy, art and Catholic doctrine.
Concise articles on all aspects of Jewish life.
CD-ROM Information Commons; Paper copy at DS102.8 E496 Info Commons Ref
Complete text of the original 16 volume edition, with yearbooks and decennials for 1982 and 1992; a comprehensive and up-to date view of world Jewry.
BR95 D46 1986 Main Ref
Includes contemporary as well as ancient religions, astrology, magic and the occult.
G1046.E4 .A8 1999 Main Ref.
Provides a geographical account of the historical development of religions throughout the world.
BQ128 E5 Main Ref.
Scholarly and definitive work on all aspects of Buddhist thought, history and civilization.
BL2525 M449 1998 Main Ref.
Information on both prominent and obscure American religious groups.
BS185N4 Main Ref. Many versions available.
BS491.2 .N484 1994 Main Ref. and Main Stacks. A 12-volume guide and commentary to the Bible. There are several key features common to all of the volumes of this series. First, each includes a two-column, double translation of the Biblical text (NIV - New International Version, and NRSV - New Revised Standard Version) arranged by topical unit or story. Then, they provide commentaries that look at the passages as a whole, as well as verse-by-verse. Third, interesting Reflection pieces that relate the passages to each other, to history, and to current concerns occur at the conclusion of each passage. Fourth, introductory articles for each book are provided that discuss transmission, historical background, cultural setting, literary concerns, and current scholarship. Finally, there are general articles about the Bible, each Testament, and various types of literature (Narrative, Gospel, Wisdom Literature, etc.) are provided to give general placement and knowledge about the text overall.
BX841 N44 1967 Info Commons Ref
Authoritative work with long signed articles. Good for medieval literature, history, philosophy, art and Catholic doctrine. Revised version of the 1907-1922 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia.
BS425 E4 1957 Main Ref. and Main Stacks
This is one of many concordances in the Library.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 13 Dec 12:36
