Search & Find
Early Modern Studies
- Secondary Sources
- Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
- Archives/Catalogs
- Maps
- Primary Sources
- Music
- Art/Images
- Web Miscellaneous
Secondary Sources
General
Academic Search Complete
Guide
Indexes articles of news and other sources for the most part from 1980 to the present. Inlcudes full-text for many articles from 1992 to the present. Some full text titles go back to mid-twentieth century.
Contains the full text of the current issues of the most most critical peer-reviewed anthropology publications. Does include archaology and articles about indiginous populations both pre- and post-Columbus. Current issues available and links to earlier inssues in JSTOR.
Anthropology, archaeology and cultural studies. Prepared by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University combined with the Anthropology Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. (1993-)
The Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-) , and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-) provides the most up-to-date citations to core journals. Can also search by cited author and follow more recent articles where specific older works have been cited.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
These include dissertations and theses from all participating institutions, including the Univ. of Arizona. Indexes dissertations written at over 1,000 North American and foreign universities. Includes some master's theses. Full text is available for most dissertations from 1998 on.
Foreign dissertations indexed go back to 1637 and U.S. dissertations from 1861-.
The University of Arizona Electronic Theses and Dissert
The Electronic Theses and Dissertations database of UA dissertations and selected theses. Coverage include theses and dissertations (2005 - ).
See sub-topics, such as Music, for dissertations specific to that area.
Humanities International Complete
A database index of the humanities literature, with abstracts and some full-text of articles in all areas of the humanities. The coverage of some titles go as far back as 1925 to-present.
International Medieval Bibliography
Guide
This covers European and North African Middle Ages. Includes indexed bibliographic information about journal articles, books, conference publications, and chapters in books published since 1984.
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur
Index to articles in all subjects as covered in European publications. Journal indexing begins in 1984. The print version began in 1896 as Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriften-literatur (AI9 B5) and continued through 1964 when it changed title and call number,1964-1998. (AI 9 I 5)
This source covers the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Index to articles, books, and book chapters published since 1784.
Fully searchable and full image of complete runs of the major periodicals in history, philosophy, language & literature, religion, Asian, African and Latin American studies and more. Will not include the most recent few years of a journal, but in a few cases links to Project Muse.
Medieval and Early Modern Period Historical Sources
A guide to the sources in the UA Library.
Fully searchable and full image of more current issues of major scholarly journals. In some cases links to older issues in JSTOR.
Google Scholar enables specific searches of scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses and books. Content includes a range of publishers and aggregators with whom Googlehas standing arrangements.
Note that not all material to which the UA Library subscribes will be available directly through Google Scholar. If you find references to materials in Google Scholar without full text links, please consult the UA Library catalog or our list of online journals.
For off campus access, to UA subscribed content,configure Google Scholar to link to UA subscribe full text and export to Refworks. You must connect to Google Scholar via the Library web pages or connect ot the Internet using the UA VPN.
To configure your Google Scholar preferences for the University of Arizona:
- Select "Scholar Preferences"
- Under Institutional Access, select "University of Arizona"
History
Full text of historical periodicals useful for French History. Click on Découverte and then Périodiques to retrieve a list of titles. These load very slowly. The interface is in French only.
This is an source for the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Index to articles, books, and book chapters. Coverage 1784 to present.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. No full text. Type an = sign before a subject term to get only the search word.
A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities, 500-1600.
Music
IIMP Full Text ( International Index to Music Periodica
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music
Dedicated to studying all aspects of music from this era, including performance practice and theater of the 17th century.
An index to music periodical literature offering access to historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data.No abstracts.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Devoted primarily to scholarly, classical music topics. A wide variety of different languages and document types, including journal articles, festschriften, dissertations, books, book reviews, performance reviews, etc. Abstracts (summaries) included. Dates covered: 1969 to present.
Art
Broad coverage of over 300 arts journals. Includes coverage of museum bulletins, yearbooks, exhibition listings, competitions and awards. Coverage is from 1984 to date. The print equivalent is 1929 to date. (Main Reference NX 20.A77)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes over 1,000 periodicals published worldwide. This database covers architecture and landscape architecture. 1977- present.
Bibliography of the History of Art (includes RILA & RAA
Indexing approximately 2500 American and European art journals, this data base also surveys conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition catalogs and much more. Coverage is from 1973 to the present. The BHA was formed by the merger in 1991 of RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) and RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archaeologie). BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessors.
Religion/Philosophy
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Index to literature of all traditions, with special strength in Judaism and Christianity. Coverage: 1949 to present.
Index to books and articles about the Islamic world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Europe, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Coverage: 1906 to present.
Indexes journals and some books from 1940 to the present.
Contains full-text articles from many of the leading philosophy journals.
Literature
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Lite
Citations (some full-text) to scholarly literature in the humanities. Contains records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world,1920-.
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissen
This database (Bibliography of German literature and literary studies) indexes books, book chapters and articles on German language, literature and linguistics from 1985-1997.
Essay and General Literature Index
Author and subject index to essays and articles in collections of works. No full text (Available online 1985-present. In print, 1900-present)
Index to full text of over 200,000 works of English and American Literature. Some of the databases included are: Early English Prose Fiction(1500-1700), Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780), English Drama (1280-1915), English Poetry(600-1900), .Also provides access to secondary sources including journal articles and books(some full text).
Full-text and excerpted text. Bibliographical, biographical and critical reviews of authors and their works. Covers fiction and nonfiction. Includesinformation from Medieval Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Literature Criticism 1400-1800.
MLA Bibliography (literature, language, linguistics)
Guide
Database of articles of literary criticism and linguistics. This is the prime source. Coverage: 1926 to present.
Geographic
All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia in all periods of time. Coverage: westerrn language articles and book titles published since 1971.
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodical Index
Covers over 500 journals from or about Latin America. Includes book reviews, drama and film reviews and articles which may be written in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Good for unique viewpoint. Full-text access to some text. Coverage: 1970 to present.
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
Annual. Volumes alternate: one year Social Sciences, the next, Humanities. Excellent traditional source for books and periodicals on Latin America. Subject index gives access to books and articles. Coverage: 1935 to present.
Jahresberichte fur Deutsche Geschichte
Searchable digital edition of the printed Jahresberichte, a bibliography of writings (journal articles and monographs) on German history since 500 C.E. Coverage: 1986-present
PRISMA - Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Human�st
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for thestudy ofLatin America and the Caribbean Basin.PRISMA's content includes articles in Spanish, Portuguese and English.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 23 Jan 20:22
