Search & Find
Zoology
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Writing and Presentation Resources
- Student Services
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
Background Information
GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest encyclopedia article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other WWW sites selected by Britannica editors.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
A good source for basic information on animal life and behavior, from lower animals to mammals. Includes black-and-white and color illustrations.
Science Ref [Also available as a netLibrary "e-book" through the UA Library Catalog.]
QL 76 .E53 2001 (3 vols.)
Descriptions & histories of zoos around the world.
QL 645 .G67 1995 Science Ref
Translates Latin names to English, and explains the reason for the name. Begins with a review of the system of classification; definitions are by taxonomic group; index provides access by Latin and English name.
QL 750.3 .B37 2001 Science Ref
S920 .C64 Science Ref
SF 65.2 .H36 1991 Science Ref
History, nutrition, breeds, genetics, statistics, health, production, utilization - presented in primarily table format. Includes a glossary and references for pursuing more detailed sources.
SF 609 .B53 2001 Science Ref 20th edition.
Updated entries and current topics. Covers animal diseases, genetics, breeds, anatomy, public health, first-aid and prevention, and techniques. For owners, practitioners, and farmers.
ANIMAL-SPECIFIC SOURCES
QL 362 .S82 1992 Science Ref
QL 406.5 .A22 1991 Science Ref
ARIZONA-RELATED RESOURCES
The following terms are a selective list of relevant subject headings used in the UA Library. They can be used either in the Subject or Keyword search mode of the online catalog. The terms are taken from the Library of Congress Subject Headings, a four- volume set of large red books kept near the reference desks. Using the sub-heading for Arizona ( --Arizona ) after a search term will narrow the search to topics related to our state. Other sub-headings can be used to narrow results to specific areas of interest ( Birds--Breeding ) or the format of the publication ( Birds--Arizona--Bibliography ).
Fish--Arizona
Birds--Breeding--Arizona
Reptiles--Arizona
Peccaries--Arizona or Collared Peccaries--Arizona
Bighorn Sheep--Bibliography
QL151 .C65 1987 Science Ref
QL162 .L67 1972 Science Ref
QL 628.A7 M56 Science Ref
QL 666.O6 F59 Science Ref
ENDANGERED SPECIES
Audubon
Biodiversity and Endangered Species
Center for Biological Diversity
Threatened and Endangered Species
National Park Service
The Endangered Species Program
US Fish and Wildlife Service
2009 IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
Relevant subject headings for searching the UA Library catalog include:
- Endangered Species--Arizona
- Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Programs--Arizona
- Wildlife Conservation--Arizona
OR : use the subject or keyword search mode and type in the name of the animal you wish to search for:
- Gray Wolf
- Spotted Owl
BOOKS
To locate a book: Use Exact Search if you have an exact title or author name; use Keyword Search if you are searching with keywords.
A catalog of records for all types of material cataloged by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for books, journals, software, etc. created last week. This database is updated daily.
Free version of the WorldCat database that can show nearby library holdings.
E-BOOKS
ebrary is an online collection of books spanning multiple subject areas. You can also create a personal ebrary account which allows you to create a personal online bookshelf, save bookmarks within a book, annotate pages, and highlight specific passages for later reference. To view ebrary books you must install the ebrary Reader software. If the software isn't installed on the PC you are using, you will be prompted "Click here to download plugin" when you view a book. If the reader doesn't install automatically, use the "download ebrary Reader" link on the ebrary home page to install it.
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them. Clicking on a book result, you'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors.
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. More than 3,000 books are available free online.
The Bookshelf can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts: when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections.
NetLibrary is the most comprehensive collection of online eBooks and resource materials available. Using NetLibrary, you can access a wide range of scholarly and reference materials entirely online. To check out NetLibrary eBooks, you must create an account. UA users can create accounts and once you have a netLibrary account, you can use eBooks from any computer, regardless of its location. For more information about using NetLibrary, see their page on How to use NetLibrary, Search Tips, or their Help page.
Includes current and some back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Kluwer is now owned by Springer and access to former Kluwer journals is available from the Springer Web site.
Wiley Interscience provides access to electronic editions of approximately 150 journals published by John Wiley and Sons.
DISSERTATIONS & THESES
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest)
Index of North American PhD dissertations back to 1865, with PDF full text since about 1997.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 13 Feb 12:38
