Search & Find
Molecular and Cellular Biology
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Writing & Presentation Resources
- Laboratory Practices
- Student Services
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Funding & Career Opportunities
Background Information
BOOKS
UA Library Catalog
Guide
Find out which books, journals, videos, or other items the library owns.
WorldCat
Guide
A catalog of records for all type of material cataloged
by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for
manuscripts written as early as the 12th century as
well as records for books, journals, software, etc.
created last week. This database is updated daily.
Interlibrary Loan service is available directly from WorldCat for
UA students, faculty and staff.
The RLG Union Catalog is no longer available. Please use
WorldCat instead.
WorldCat Local
Guide
WorldCat Local is a localized version of the WorldCat database that includes local information taken from the UA library catalog for UA-owned library materials, as well as information on the holdings of thousands of other libraries worldwide. UA faculty, staff and students can place holds or request Interlibrary Loans directly through this system.
Also currently included are over 60 million article listings from ArticleFirst and British Library Serials (multidisciplinary), ERIC (education), GPO (US government pubications) and Medline/PubMed (health sciences). Links are provided out to full text content if the UA Libraries subscribe to it.
The reviews section for each item will not work if you are off-campus.
E-BOOKS
ebrary is an online collection of books spanning multiple subject areas. You can also create a personal ebrary account which allows you to create a personal online bookshelf, save bookmarks within a book, annotate pages, and highlight specific passages for later reference. To view ebrary books you must install the ebrary Reader software. If the software isn't installed on the PC you are using, you will be prompted "Click here to download plugin" when you view a book. If the reader doesn't install automatically, use the "download ebrary Reader" link on the ebrary home page to install it.
Google Book Search > Molecular and Cellular Biology
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them. Clicking on a book result, you'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors.
National Academies Press > Biology and Life Sciences
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. More than 3,000 books are available free online.
NCBI - Bookshelf (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
The Bookshelf can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox. Books are also linked to terms in PubMed abstracts: when viewing an abstract, select the "Books" link to see phrases within the abstract hyperlinked to book sections.
Molecular and Cellular Biology
NetLibrary is the most comprehensive collection of online eBooks and resource materials available. Using netLibrary, you can access a wide range of scholarly and reference materials entirely online. Subjects covered by netLibrary include arts and entertainment, business and economy, computer and internet, education, health, history, government and law, recreation and sports, reference, science and technology, social sciences and society and culture. Geographic scope is United States and international.
To check out netLibrary eBooks, you must create an account. UA users can create accounts and once you have a netLibrary account you can use eBooks from any computer, regardless of its location.
Some netLibrary e-books require the use of the DjVu plug-in (check for the DjVu download link when opening a book).
For more information about using netLibrary, see their page on How to use netLibrary, Search Tips, or their Help page.
Includes current and some back issues of Springer/Verlag & Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Kluwer is now owned by Springer and access to former Kluwer journals is available from the Springer Web site.
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Wiley Interscience) now contains all the content formerly available on Blackwell Synergy.
Note: Only issues listed with an "open padlock" icon are included in the UA subscription.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
QH 332 .E52 1995 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
"...moral dimentions of the life sciences and health care..." Articles on topics ranging from animal research to social medicine.
QH427 .E53 2004 Science Ref
QP 11 .E53 1997 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
A complete source of information on the human organism. Each article is a comprehensive overview of a selected topic for readers ranging from general public to research professionals. Use the Index for best access.
QH506 .E53 1999 Science Ref
QR 358 .E53 1999 Science Ref
The largest comprehensive reference source of current virological information available.
Q 121 .M3 2002 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref Articles begin with a definition, give a brief overview of a topic, then develop the topic more fully. Index is Vol. 20.
DICTIONARIES
QH 575 .D5 1995 Science Library
Updated edition, broadens out to cover new areas in molecular biology and neurobiology. Includes tables: CD antigens, fatty acids, G proteins, etc.
QH 427 .K55 2002 Science Library
Includes definitions of abbreviations, acronyms, and terms encountered in the genetics literature. Many illustrations, chemical formulas, and tables. Appendices: classification of organisms, domesticated species, chronology of events, lists of periodicals and databases.
QH302.5 .M382 2003 Science Library
Each definition, including acronyms and abbreviations, is identified by the field of primary use. Includes pronunciation.
R121 .S8 2006 Law Ref R121 .S8 1995 Science Library
Includes anatomy terms (Latin & English), a Wordfinder to help locate multi-word terms, color illustrations, and diagrams; other good resources at front and back of the book.
HANDBOOKS
QR 81 .A5 1994 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
9th edition - a reference aid for identification of bacteria that have been described and cultured.
QP 514.2 .K6613 2005 Science Ref
Concise and visual - focuses on the relationship between chemical structure and biological function in humans and other mammals.
Comprehensive Molecular Insect Science Online
Covers physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, behavior, and control of insects. Audience includes research workers, teachers, and students of insect science / entomology, developmental biology and molecular biology.
Full-text online version of the 2004 revised, expanded and re-titled 7 volume print set "Comprehensive Insect Physiology, Biochemistry and Pharmacology" originally published in 1985.
Merck Index - 14th Edition
A database of over 10,000 significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances, containing physical property data, safety data, literature references, and structures. The Merck Index also includes Organic Name Reactions, which describes organic chemical reactions which have come to be recognized and referred to by name within the chemistry community.
Users must register for a free CambridgeSoft membership account to install the ChemDraw plugin used for structure searching.
QH 506 M7213 1998 Science Library
QH 307.2 .M34 1991 Science Ref
Each article includes a list of definitions, topic summary, how the topic is researched and relates to a field of study, and a bibliography.
QH 506 .M66155 1995 Science Library
More than 250 articles, designed as self-contained treatments of the important topics in molecular biology. Definitions and bibliography with each entry.
QH506 .M6627 1987 Science Ref
RS75 .P5 Science Ref / Info Commons Ref
SOFTWARE @ INFORMATION COMMONS (IC)
Information Commons - Software - Class Software - Math, Science, Engineering ( Available at Main Library IC, Science-Engineering Library IC, & Fine Arts Library IC.)
DISSERTATIONS & THESES
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Index of all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European
colleges and universities. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the
author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Includes full text of dissertations from 1996 to present.
NOTE: Some full text is not available due to restrictions placed by the author, patents pending or problems
regarding use of copyrighted material without permission.
SEARCH TIP FOR UA DISSERTATIONS:
Type "university of arizona" (with quotes) in the School name search box.
Or use the Current
Research @ University of Arizona subset of this database.
University of Arizona Electronic Theses and Dissertatio
The Electronic Theses and Dissertations database is the intellectual output of graduate students at the University of Arizona. The database allows for searching and browsing on all the topics. Coverage include theses and dissertations (2005 - ) approved by the Graduate college and masters' reports (2003 -) approved by College of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture in the Department of Geography and Regional Development at the University of Arizona.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 19 Oct 15:06
