Search & Find
Asian & African History
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Primary Resources
- Find Newspapers
- Archives & Catalogs
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
Research Help for History Majors
Librarians have created a page of interactive tutorials, guides, and websites that support the History major. View Research Help for History Majors.
Background Information
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
In the Online encyclopedias in History (Gale Virtual Reference Library) which also includes full text encyclopedias on American, Middle Eastern, Vietnam, World History, Dictionary of Ideas, Genocide, Recreation, Fashion, and other related topics.
DS253.E52 1982.
Persian Collection. Covers pre-Islamic and Islamic periods.
A multi-volume encyclopedia, with subject and proper name indexes, as well as a glossary of technical terms. Cumulative supplements are issued.
A comprehensive modern Jewish encyclopedia pertaining to all aspects of Jewish history, culture and religion. In addition to the basic set, there are 6 yearbooks updating the information through 1987. The CD-ROM version includes all volumes and updated information.
Encyclopedia of Japan (JapanKnowledge)
Guide
Also known as the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, this is a comprehensive encyclopedia. An older, print version is available at:DS805.K633 1983 Main Ref.
Clio Notes (America History & Life)
Guide
Clio Notes a part of America History & Life and Historical Abstracts.
For each of the above databases, the section titled "Clio Notes" at the top of their search page, links to chronologies and short descriptions of historical events of the periods covered.
Clio Notes (Historical Abstracts)
Guide
Clio Notes a part of America History & Life and Historical Abstracts.
For each of the above databases, the section titled "Clio Notes" at the top of their search page, links to chronologies and short descriptions of historical events of the periods covered.
A year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Covers social, political, artistic, and technological events. Indexed by name, title, place and event.
The online version of the Europa World Year Books and the nine volumes Regional Surveys of the World series. This reference sources covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries ans territories.
The Middle East and North Africa
Available through Europa World Plus. Includes a country by country survey of countries and areas of the Middle East. Includes information about government officials, news organizations political and economic organizations, as well as demographic and economic statistics.
Citation Guides for Print & Electronic Resources
From the UA Library
Examples of citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles, as well as links to subject specific citation styles
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: August 14, 2012 14:48
