Search & Find
Second Language Acquisition & Teaching
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Facts & Figures
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Background Information
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics, Second Edition, covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines such as anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, cognitive science, media, computer science, sociology, medicine, and the law.
Blackwell Reference Online: Linguistics
Full-text handbooks such as the Handbook of Second Language Acquisition, the Handbook of Bilingualism and the Handbook of Applied Linguistics. Check the catalog for additional online texts, as well as the Library's print holdings.
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
This 2nd edition of the Encyclopedia of Language and Education is available through SpringerLink. (The previous edition is available in print.)
Contents of the 2nd edition are:
- v. 1. Language policy and political issues in education
- v. 2. Literacy
- v. 3. Discourse and education
- v. 4. Second and foreign language education
- v. 5. Bilingual education
- v. 6. Knowledge about language
- v. 7. Language testing and assessment
- v. 8. Language socialization
- v. 9. Ecology of language
- v. 10. Research methods in language and education
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral
Over 4,000 articles about topics in the social and behavioral sciences. Brief biographies of people in the
fields covered only if they were born before 1890.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
The print version of this encyclopedia is available in Information Commons Reference P29. I58 2003.
Linguistics: An Introduction to Language and Communication
5th edition
"This popular introductory linguistics text is unique in the way various themes are integrated throughout the book. One primary theme is the question, "How is a speaker's communicative intent recognized?" Rather than treat phonology, phonetics, morphology, syntax, semantics, and pragmatics as completely separate fields, the text shows how they interact in principled ways. Similarly, language variation and acquisition are informed by results in these fields. The text provides a sound introduction to linguistic methodology while also revealing why people are intrinsically interested in language--the ultimate puzzle of the human mind."
Earlier versions of this book, both print and online, are also available.
Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning
The print version of this encyclopedia is available at Main Library (Reference) P51 R66 2000
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 06 Jan 13:22
