Search & Find
Geosciences
- Get Started
- Find Articles & Other Publications
- Maps and Geospatial Data
- Locating Geological Maps
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Geologic Names Lexicon "GEOLEX"
GEOLEX is a search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names. The database is not complete, refer to the Lexicon of Geologic Names of the United States
Volume 1. The physics and chemistry of earth; Volume 2. The earth's surface and history; Volume 3. Earth materials and earth resources; Volume 4. Weather, water, and the atmosphere; and Volume 5. Planetology and earth from space.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Searchable by keywords such stratigraphy, paleontology, shale, Grand Canyon, etc. Provides links to selected web sites as well as to standard encyclopedia articles.
From the UA Library - Examples of citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles, as well as links to subject-specific citation styles.
Geographic Names Information System - GNIS
Contains information about physical and cultural geographic features in the United States and associated areas, both current and historical (not including roads and highways). The database holds the Federally recognized name of each feature and defines the location of the feature by state, county, USGS topographic map, and geographic coordinates.
Contains thousands of pages of content about the history of life on Earth. Includes Tour of Geologic Time.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: December 06, 2012 09:20
