Search & Find
Geosciences
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Further Research
- USGS Publications
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
Background Information
This guide is designed for students and researchers engaged in subject-specific research in the geosciences. If you need only a few articles or books on a topic for a NATS or writing class you may want to use one or more of the Popular all-purpose Databases and/or search the Library Catalog by keyword.
Books
Books provide a great deal of useful background information on topics in the geosciences. Here are some useful subject headings: geology (can subdivide by state or country);hydrogeology ; historical geology ; industrial minerals-geology ; petroleum-geology ; physical geology ; and geology, structural . It may also be productive to search the library catalog by keywords and then select subject headings from useful items.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
QE5 .B38 1997 Science Ref
QE28 .E12 2001 Science Ref
Volume 1. The physics and chemistry of earth; Volume 2. The earth's surface and history; Volume 3. Earth materials and earth resources; Volume 4. Weather, water, and the atmosphere; and Volume 5. Planetology and earth from space.
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Searchable by keywords such stratigraphy, paleontology, shale, Grand Canyon, etc. Provides links to selected web sites as well as to standard encyclopedia articles.
From the UA Library - Examples of citations for MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles, as well as links to subject-specific citation styles.
Maps
Maps are available in several locations – the Map Collection in the Main Library, in pockets in the back of USGS and other publications, in theses and dissertations, and as part of journal articles and books.
To locate separate maps, use the Finding Maps guide. To find maps included in articles and professional publications, use the GeoRef database. To find maps included in dissertations, use the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text database.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 23 Jan 20:24
