Search & Find
Classics
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Criticisms & Reviews
- Web Resources
- People & Organizations
- Further Research
- Cite Sources
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
This is an online encyclopedia on the Roman emperors and their families, containing fairly short peer-reviewed articles, images, and brief bibliographies.
Dictionaries - Greek & Latin
by H.G. Liddell - PA445.E5 L6 1996 Main Ref.
This covers classical Greek.
by S.C. Woodhouse - PA445.E5 W6 1954 Main Ref.
This covers classical Greek.
by G.W.H. Lampe - PA881 .L3 Main Ref.
This covers the Greek of the church fathers not found in the classical dictionaries by Liddell and Woodhouse.
PA2365.E5 O9 1982 Main Ref.
This is a comprehensive dictionary of classical Latin.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
3rd edition, revised. (2003)
Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.
"For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity."
Previous editions are are available in Information Commons (Reference) area and in the Main Library Stacks.
Art & Architecture
Grove's Dictionary of Art Online
The Grove Dictionary Online is a place to begin your research on general art topics. The scope of coverage is unrivalled by any other art historical reference work, either in print or online. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study.
The dictionary contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
The database includes the following areas: Artist biographies, Patrons, Writers, Civilizations and Cultures, Country surveys, Towns and Cities, Styles, Groups and Movements, Art forms, Subject-matter and Iconography, Materials, Techniques and Conservation, Theories and Related issues.
Searching is facilitated by searching by words and/or terms, by artist biographies, by image(s) and/or by full-text. The database also makes it possible to search for external images related to the Dictionary. More than 30,000 external image links are currently associated with articles which point to images of art works held in public museum collections throughout the world.
ARTstor
Guide
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is:
- A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data
- The tools to actively use those images; and
- A restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
Biographical sources
by T.J. Luce - PA3002 A5 1982 Main Ref.
This is a good introduction to the major figures of classical literature.
by M. Grant - PA31 G7 Main Ref.
This is good for quick reference.
PA31 T8 Main Ref.
This German language work is particularly useful for later Greek and Roman authors.
Geographical Sources
G1033 .B3 2000 Map Collection (Oversize)
Maps of ancient Greece and Rome.
Pleiades is an international research network and associated web portal and content management system (CMS) devoted to the study of ancient geography. Continually updated data that was used in developing the Barrington Atlas.
DE59 P7 Main Ref.
This covers the entire classical Mediterranean world.
History
D54.5 B5 1980 Main
This is a general overview of chronology of the ancient world. It includes tables of astronomical data, kings, emperors and magistrates and has modern time equivalents.
Literature
PA3052 .G73 1985 Info Commons Ref.
These are scholarly histories.
PA6003 .L3 Info Commons Ref.
These are scholarly histories.
DE5 H3 Main Ref.
This covers both literature and general information on the ancient world.
Mythology
By P. Grimal - BL715 .G713 1986 Main Ref.
This is a comprehensive source.
NX650 .M9L48 Main Ref
This covers classical mythology in art.
Quotations
PN6080 H2 1958 Main Ref.
This includes Latin and Greek quotations.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 19 Jan 19:18
