Search & Find
Classics
- Get Started
- Find Articles
- Criticisms & Reviews
- Web Resources
- People & Organizations
- Further Research
- Cite Sources
Further Research
Art
The ARTstor Digital Library Collection, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, is a repository of thousands of digital images and related data, the tools to actively use those images, and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
The Beazley Archive is a research unit for the study of classical archaeology and art of the Faculty of Classics, Wolfson College, Oxford, England. The original archive of Sir John Beazley was purchased in 1965, and on his death in 1970, was brought to the Ashmolean Museum. It consisted of photographs, notes, drawings, books, and impressions from engraved gems. The photographs of Athenian vases are the largest archive of this class in the world and were the basis of Beazley's life's work. Since 1970 the entire collection has been enlarged and enhanced through gift and purchase. There are now an estimated 500,000 notes, 250,000 black and white photographs, 33,000 negatives, 7,000 color prints, 2000 books and catalogues, and 50,000 gem impressions.
Perseus Art and Architecture Browser
Searchable database of architecture, coins, gems, vases, sculpture, and sites by specific time periods and countries.
Classics
This is the full Latin text of 68 volumes printed over a period of 300 years by the Societe des Bollandistes. Records contain details of domestic and public life from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century in critical editions with commentaries on the source documents.
Collections of Medieval Latin texts from Labyrinth.
Contains the complete text to Bulfinch's Mythology, searchable by keyword and divided in three parts, the first part of which covers the Roman and Greek myths. Also contains hyperlinks to literary and historical source documents on the web.
A digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century. Includes both original language and translations. Complements the Latin Library.
A collection of Latin texts, including Ovid, Cicero, Horace, and Virgil.
Includes nearly 400 Greek and Roman works in English.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
An archive at Berkeley of literary works of classical and medieval civilization, including mythology texts.
One of the largest electronic text archives. Contains classical texts in the original languages.
Perseus Digital Library, Tufts
Perseus is an evolving digital library, engineering interactions through time, space, and language. Its primary goal is to bring a wide range of primary source materials to as large an audience as possible. It is a major multi-media database of text and images.
"Fine Literature Digitally Re-published"
Public domain full-text items in ASCII format searchable by author, subject, and broad Library of Congress Subject Classification.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Online is a digital library of the literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
All things Virgil, including a searchable database into Virgil's works.
Geography
The Ancient World Mapping Center promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, teaching, and community outreach activities.
Pleiades is an international research network and associated web portal and content management system (CMS) devoted to the study of ancient geography. Continually updated data that was used in developing the Barrington Atlas.
History
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
This site organizes online texts and media for the study of ancient and classical history.
Language Resources
Greek and Latin Language Resources
Directory of links to Greek and Latin research resources, including dictionaries and an ancient Greek phrase tool.
Online tools for help with Latin/Greek dictionaries and word searches.
Textkit: Greek and Latin Learning Tools
Provides free and downloadable Greek and Latin readers and grammars.
Papyrology
This site is a project of the Special Collections Library at Duke University to provide "electronic access to texts about and images of 1,373 papyri from ancient Egypt."
Papyrological resources on the Internet.
Religion
Provides full text of major writings of early church leaders, including Ante-Nicene Fathers and the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers.
This provides full text of works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian, 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. It contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
Women's Studies
Materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world. This page is updated frequently.
Gender and Diversity in Place: Proceedings of the Fourth Conference on Feminism and Classics
Papers from the conference held May 27-30, 2004, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: September 19, 2012 11:22
