Search & Find
Mining
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Facts & Figures
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- People & Organizations
Background Information
HD9506 .A2S72 1988 Science Reference
TN9 .T5 Science Reference
TN151 .S18 Science Reference
Guides To The Literature
These are guides to sources of information including handbooks, bibliographies, directories, and periodicals, as well as organizations:
Kaplan, Stuart R., ed. A Guide to Information Sources in Mining, Minerals, and Geosciences. New York: Interscience, 1965, 599 p. Z6736. K36 SciRef
O'Donogue, Michael. The Literature of Mineralogy. London: British Library, 1986, 85 p. QE363.2.O36 1986 SciRef
Stark, Marilyn M. Mining and Mineral Industries: An Information Source Book. Phoenix: Oryx, 1988, 124 p. HD9506.A2S72 1988 SciRef
Dictionaries and Glossaries
Handbooks, Manuals, and Other General References
Crowson, Phillip. Minerals Handbook 1982-83. Surrey, UK: Macmillan, 1982, 248 p. Extensive statistics on 37 important minerals. TN145.C76 1982 SciRef
Cummins, Arthur B., & Given, Ivan A., eds. SME Mining Engineering Handbook. New York: Soc. of Mining Eng., 1973, 2 vols. Principles, essential information, data, etc. are provided by a large staff of specialists. TN151.S18 SciRef
Lefond, Stanley J., ed. Industrial Minerals and Rocks (Nonmetallics other than Fuels). New York: Soc. of Mining Eng., 1983, 2 vols. Comprehensive chapters on each commodity by specialist authors. TN799.5. A43 1983 SciRef
Mining Journal. Mining Annual Review - [year]. London: Mining Journal, annual. An extensive summary of worldwide mining industry both by region and by commodity. TN1.M71 [year] SciRef
Peele, Robert, ed. Mining Engineers' Handbook. New York: Wiley, 1941, 2 vols. Old but basic data is still useful. TN151.P4 1941 SciRef
Pit & Quarry. Pit & Quarry Handbook & Buyers Guide. Chicago: P&Q, 1982, 1 vol. For the nonmetallic minerals industry; chapters include mineral recovery, preparation, handling and storage, and power equipment. TN277.P5 SciRef
U. S. Bureau of Mines. Mineral Facts and Problems. Washington, DC: USBM, 1985, 956 p. Has chapters with background information and worldwide statistics on significant mineral commodities. TN23.U4 SciRef
U. S. Bureau of Mines. Minerals Yearbook - 1986. Washington, DC: USBM, 1988, 3 vols. Has background information and statistics on minerals industry including chapters on minerals commodities, U. S. areas reports, and international areas reports. TN23.U612 SciRef
Directories of Active Mines and Companies
Coal Age/E&MJ. Directory of Mine Supply Houses, Distributors and Sales Agents. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1982, 256 p. For the U. S. and Canada. TN345.D6 1982 SciRef
Engineering and Mining Journal. E&MJ International Directory of Mining. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1987, 623 p. Includes consultants and industry surveys and statistics. TN12.E56 1987-88 SciRef
Pit & Quarry. Pit & Quarry Directory of the U. S. Nonmetallic Mining Industries. Chicago: P&Q, 1982, 479 p. TN12.P5 1982 SciRef
Western Mining Directory. Castle Rock, CO: Howell Publ., 1987, 236 p. Guide for the western U. S. TN12.W49 1987 SciRef
Wilcock, Helen. Financial Times Mining International Year Book, 1987. Essex, UK: Longman, 1986, 578 p. Has extensive business profiles on the world's exploration and production companies and includes a section on associations. HD9506.U6M5 1987 SciRef
World Mining. World Mines Register. San Francisco: Miller Freeman, 1982, 408 p. Listings by country, company, personnel, and product. TN12.W66 SciRef
Periodical Indexes and Abstracting Indexes
These are used to locate citations to individual journal articles. It is useful to consult several of the following indexes to obtain the broadest coverage for you specific topic.
Bibliography and Index of Geology. Alexandria, VA: American Geological Institute, 1933 to present, annual cumulation with monthly supplements, no abstracts. The most useful subject heading is "Mining Geology". Before 1969 this title excludes North America! QE1 .G54 SciRef
Chemical Abstracts (via SciFinder Scholar)
1907 to present, semiannual cumulation with weekly supplements, has abstracts. The most useful subject heading is "Mines and Mining". Physical copy available at QD1.A51 SciRef.
Geological Abstracts. Norwich, England: Elsevier/Geo Abstracts, 1977 to 1992, monthly with annual cumulative index, one section deals with Economic Geology. QE500 U53 SciRef
Engineering Index (EI Compendex)
1906 to present, annual cumulation with monthly supplements, has abstracts. Look under the subject heading "Mines and Mining".
Metals Abstracts. London: Metals Info., 1968 to present, annual cumulation with monthly supplements, has abstracts. Most useful subject headings are "Mines", "Mining", "Open Pit Mining", "Underground Mining". TN1.M5153 SciRef
NTIS Bibliographic Database. Springfield, VA: NTIS; and Boston: SilverPlatter, 1983 to present, cumulated on 2 compact discs and updated quarterly, has abstracts. This is an index to technical reports from government sponsored research. The descriptors "Mines" and "Mining" are useful in a search strategy.
References On Gold
Elevatorski, E. A. Gold Mines of the World. Dana Point, CA: Minobras, 1981, 107 p. Summaries of active mines including production statistics, geology, etc.; listings for U. S. are by state. TN420.E55 SciRef
References On Copper
International Copper Information Bulletin. Herts, UK: Copper Development Assoc., quarterly, no. 1, 1976 to 1987. This is an index to the literature on copper. Z6738.C66I5 SciRef
References On Coal
Mining Information Services. Keystone Coal Industry Manual. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1986, 1306 p. This is a directory of companies such as producers, sellers, distributors, consultants, and consumers; it also includes industry statistics. TN805.A4K4 1986 SciRef
References On Arizona Mining
Here is a brief selected list of references on the mines and mineral resources of Arizona:
Canty, J. M., & Greeley, Michael N., editors. History of Mining in Arizona. Tucson: Mining Club of the Southwest, 1987, 1991, & 1999, 3 vols. TN24 A6S95 1988 SciRef
Greeley, Michael N., & Niemuth, Nyal J. Directory of Active Mines in Arizona. Phoenix: AZ Dept. of Mineral Resources. TN12.A72 [year] SciRef
Johnson, M. G. "Placer Gold Deposits of Arizona", U.S. Geol. Survey Bull., no. 1355, 1972, 103 p. QE75.B9 no.1355
Keith, Stanton B. "Index of Mining Properties in Pima County", Arizona Bureau of Mines Bulletin, no. 189, 1974, 156 p. TN24.A6A35 no.189 SciRef
Moore, Richard T., & Wilson, Eldred D. "Bibliography of the Geology and Mineral Resources of Arizona, 1848-1964", AZ Bureau of Mines Bull., no. 173, 1965, 321 p. TN24.A6A35 no.173 SciRef.
Wilson, Eldred D., and others. "Arizona Lode Gold Mines and Gold Mining", AZ Bureau of Mines Bull., no. 137, 1967, 254 p. TN413.A66 W5 1967 SciRef
U.S. Bureau Of Mines Publications
Here is a list of serial publications of the U. S. Bureau of Mines in the Science- Engineering Library:
Bulletin. Bureau of Mines. Vol. 1, 1949 to present. TN23.U4
Bureau of Mines Information Circular. No. 6000, 1925 to present. TN295.U4. Additional set is available on Microfiche 327.
List of Bureau of Mines Publications and Articles. 1910 to present. A subject and author index to USBM publications; has abstracts. TN1.U5 SciRef
Mineral Resources of the United States. 1882-1931, annual. TN23.U6
Minerals Yearbook. 1932 to present, annual. Latest five volumes in Reference Collection. TN23.U612
Report of Investigations. Bureau of Mines. No. 2201, 1921 to present. TN23.U43. Additional set is available on Microfiche 327.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 04 Aug 09:21
