Search & Find
Geography
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- GIS, Maps, & Atlases
- Further Research
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Course Home Pages
Background Information
General
Wealth of user-friendly and fascinating information about the world of geography.
Includes information on Mapping, Geology, Water, and Biology.
Geography (Librarian's Index to the Internet)
List of reliable high-quality Web sites in Geography
Subject gateway to scholarly relevant information in earth science, geography and mining. Resources are described and evaluated with a set of Dublin Core metadata. Search by subject, source type catalog, or search engine.
Map Scale (U.S. Geological Survey)
Provides an explanation of map scale and a list of USGS topographic maps available.
Includes information about topographic maps, map scale, US Geological Survey topographic maps, map symbols, and mapping standards.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Looking for information on the society and culture of a country? This resource contains profiles of 85 countries.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide variety of subjects.
Provides an overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches to the field of Human Geography.
G63 .K874 2002 Main Reference
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral
Print edition also available at H41 I58 2001 Main Ref
Articles covering the whole range of social and behavioral sciences; includes biographies
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Covers broad range of scholarly articles in the social sciences, including biographies of key figures. Completely revises and updates the 1968 edition (found at H40 .A2 I5 Main).
Provides basic information on each country: Geography, People, Government, Economy, Transportation, Communications and Defense.
G63 W67 2004 Info Commons Ref
Information on countries of the world, including population, history, economy, trade tourism, social development, industries, etc. (6 volumes).
Dictionaries
G63 M39 1997 Main Ref
G63 .H68 1997 Main Ref
(Available only to UA Students, Faculty, & Staff)
Gazetteers
G103.5 C44 1990 Info Commons Ref and Music Ref
Provides location and brief descriptions of cities, towns, rivers, lakes, mountains etc. Also includes some maps.
G103.5 .C645 1998 Main Ref
Geographic dictionary of places, physical features, political subdivisions, and special places of the world. Descriptions vary from a brief entry for a small village to lengthy essays for a country or state.
G103.5 G36 2003 Main Ref
GEOnet Names Server (GNS) (World)
National Geospatial Intelligence Agency web site that provides latitude and longitude for cities, towns, rivers, lakes, mountains, etc., in all countries except for the United States.
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) (United States only)
USGS's web site that provides latitude and longitude for cities, towns, rivers, lakes, mountains, etc., for the United States. Also lists on what USGS topographic map the place can be found on.
Directory of cities across the world with a link to a map for each town.
G103.5 S73 2000 Main
North American Gazetteer (Note: includes ads.)
Gazetteer for U.S., Canada, and Mexico. Includes location, latitude/longitude, and descriptions for places, physical features, political subdivisions.
Citation Guides
Citation Guide
Learn about citation resources including citation guides for MLA, APA and the Chicago Manual of Style. Link to information about software for creating citations and bibliographies including Refworks and EndNote Web.
Includes examples for maps in print sources and electronic sources -- map on the web, map generators, CD-ROM/DVD maps, real time map, and GIS-produced map. Also see http://library.owu.edu/citing222.html for additional examples.
Guide to Citing Maps & Atlases
Includes examples for maps in print sources and electronic sources -- map on the web, map in a computer-based atlas,GIS-produced map, dynamically generated map or table, shapefile from a GIS dataset
GA108.7 .C55 1992 Main Library
Guide on how to cite maps, atlases, and geospatial data.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 04 Apr 12:38
