Search & Find
Geography
General
Includes information on Mapping, Geology, Water, and Biology.
Geography (Librarian's Index to the Internet)
List of reliable high-quality Web sites in Geography
Map Scale (U.S. Geological Survey)
Provides an explanation of map scale and a list of USGS topographic maps available.
Encyclopedias
Looking for information on the society and culture of a country? This resource contains profiles of 85 countries.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide variety of subjects.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Provides an overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches to the field of Human Geography.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral
Articles covering the whole range of social and behavioral sciences; includes biographies
Provides basic information on each country: Geography, People, Government, Economy, Transportation, Communications and Defense.
Dictionaries
Gazetteers
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Geographic dictionary of places, physical features, political subdivisions, and special places of the world. Descriptions vary from a brief entry for a small village to lengthy essays for a country or state.
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) (United States only)
USGS's web site that provides latitude and longitude for cities, towns, rivers, lakes, mountains, etc., for the United States. Also lists on what USGS topographic map the place can be found on.
GEOnet Names Server (GNS) (World)
National Geospatial Intelligence Agency web site that provides latitude and longitude for cities, towns, rivers, lakes, mountains, etc., in all countries except for the United States.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: October 30, 2012 14:35
