Search & Find
American Indian Languages
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Course Home Pages
- State Education Standards
- Facts & Figures
- People and Organizations
- Cite Sources
Background Information
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics, Second Edition, covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines such as anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, cognitive science, media, computer science, sociology, medicine, and the law.
E76.2 .H36 Info Commons Ref. and the Main Reference Collection.
Fourteen volumes of this projected 20 vol. set have been published. It provides an encyclopedic summary of what is known of the prehistory, history and culture of Native Americans living north of the urban civilizations of central Mexico. The handbook is arranged geographically. Volume 17 is titled Language and gives a great deal of background on Indian languages and includes valuable bibliographic information. The language of a particular tribe may also be covered in the handbook volume which includes the tribe.
P211 .W714 1996 Main Library (Reference)
This comprehensive reference work covers "all the world's writing systems from ancient times to the present...ranging from cuneiform to shorthand, from archaic Greek to modern Chinese, from Old Persian to modern Cherokee."
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references,
including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print
Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year
thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Related Subject Guides
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 13 May 13:36
