Research, Write, Publish
Mexican American Studies
- Get Started
- Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Primary Sources-Archives, etc.
- Arts Resources (performing arts and fine arts)
- Borderlands Studies Resources
- Chicana/Latina Resources
- Education Resources
- Health-Related Resources
- Language and Literature Resources
- Course Home Pages
Introduction to this Guide
Mexican American/Chicano Studies is inter-disciplinary, as it encompasses the social sciences, humanities and the arts, as well as other areas such as education. If your topic deals with a specific field of study such as education or history, be sure to look at the resources listed in the subject guides for those topics in addition to the ones listed in this guide, as those sources will likely provide additional material for your research.
Doing research in the Library or online can either be an enjoyable experience or a chore, depending on how well prepared you are. To learn the basics of how to do effective research, complete the following tutorials before you begin.
- How to Search Effectively This tutorial will review how to use your Topic Statement to create a Search Strategy using a Keyword Search String. This should be your first step before jumping into the Library Catalog or a database, as it will help you narrow your search and provide you for a consistent guide while searching different online resources.
- Catalog Tutorial (UA Library)
Learn how to search the UA LIbrary Catalog by keyword, author, and title. This tutorial includes self assessment quizzes as well as a printable final quiz.
- Research Rules to Live By Learn the steps of the research process, including choosing, exploring, and focusing a topic; identifying the best types of information to use; selecting the right resources and evaluating the information you find.
Once you have done this, your first task is to gather background information about your topic. The following resources will provide a starting point for your research and are useful for finding definitions of terms and concepts and for learning the basics about key issues, people and events. Many of these sources cover the "Latino" population, (including Cuban Americans, Puerto Ricans and others) in the US, not just the Mexican American population. However, because the Mexican American population is the largest "sub-group" of the Latino population, there is ample coverage of Mexican American issues in these resources.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Other Useful Resources
A single volume encyclopedia that offers introductory essays and bibliographies on a wide variety of topics related to the Mexican American experience. A great starting point for further research.
Offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Topics covered include identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
This six volume set focuses on the Latino experience in the U.S. The more than 1,900 articles range from 28 signed articles with annotated bibliographies to unsigned paragraphs without bibliographies. The 28 articles run approximately 4,000 words covering "broad overviews of major aspects of Latino life," for example, family life and politics. More than 1,000 black-and-white illustrations mean a picture is on almost every page. Graphics make statistics easily understood. Sidebars highlight facts and special lists (e.g., "Latino Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients" ). Definitions for many Spanish words are provided in parentheses. Cross-references tie articles together. Each volume contains its own table of contents; volume 6 contains the comprehensive index. Volume 1 lists contributors with their affiliations.
This two-volume set includes essays that provide historical overviews of Latinos in each of the 50 states. It also includes brief biographical sketches of notable people, a chronology of key events, key cultural contributions of Latinos to each state, as well as a bibliography for each essay.
Highlights notable events, people, groups and movements, ideas, issues, and cultural expressions of Latinos/as in America. It begins with three overview essays by time (1492–1900, 1900–1965, and 1965–present), followed by nearly 300 alphabetically arranged entries. Includes a mix of historical topics and more contemporary ones as well as entries on specific cultures. Every entry ends with see also references and further-reading suggestions. Volume 1 contains a “Topic Finder” as well as an alphabetical list of contents. A chronology, a complete bibliography (including a few Web sites), and an index end volume 2.
This 2007 volume illuminates the most critical—and some not as well-known—events in Latino history. Chronological entries organized by subject explore categories such as Civil Rights and Protest, Arts & Music, Literature, Religion, Economics, and Legislation. Inclusive of all Latino subgroups. Electronic resource.
A useful resource that provides essay length overviews on a number of topics including the history of Hispanics in the US, Hispanics in the arts, women, language, labor and education, to name a name a few. Also includes a chronology and a biography section.
Containing biographical sketches, organizational histories, legislative summaries, and court cases, this work covers the Chicano, or Mexican American (used interchangeably), civil rights movement from the 1836 Texas revolt to the debate over bilingualism. Arranged alphabetically, each entry contains a list of cross-references. The book concludes with several appendixes: a chronology, the text of the U.S. Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth Amendment, the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, a list of acronyms, notes on Spanish pronunciation, and a general index. Also available as a book in Main reference. Call # E184.M5 M458 2000
Covers a broader range of issues and groups than the The Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement, and is a more recent publication (2006). Includes a comprehensive bibliography, chronology and index.
Four volume set of essays, each covering a different topic, including history, anthropology, Literature and Art, and Sociology.
This work covers issues such as Latino identity, political attitudes, history, demographcs, and intergroup relations. It provides descriptions to hundreds of books and other resources on these and other topics. A useful starting point for finding resources on politics and Latinos.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: January 16, 2015 15:33