Search & Find
Russian & Slavic Studies
- Find Articles & Translations
- Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, & Guides
- Further Research
- Web Resources
- Course Research Guides
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Online indexes, databases
Covers a broad range of business periodicals, many dealing with financial and economic issues in Russian and Eastern Europe.
ABSEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic and East
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Covers journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada. Coverage begins in 1998. EBSEES (The European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies), the European version of this publication, can be searched online http://ebsees.staatsbibliothek-berlin.de/
Academic Onefile
Academic OneFile includes a high percentage of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, this database indexes over 8000 titles and includes full text for over 5000 titles (when completed).
Academic Search Complete
Guide
Multidisciplinary database that includes many full-text articles. Offers full text coverage for 1,000 journals and indexing for 3,000 journals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (included in Web of Kn
Index to core journal articles and cited works in the fine arts and
humanities, including archaeology, art, Asian studies, classics, dance,
film, folklore, history, language and literature, linguistics, music,
theater, and classics. The library's print copy covers the gap in coverage
before the online system. To search only in Arts & Humanities Citation Index, click on the Change Limits and Settings link in the lower half of the search page and deselect the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Science Citation Index.
EBSEES (European Bibliography of Slavic and East Europe
Contains nearly 50,000 bibliographic citations to scholarly articles, books, etc, relating to Eastern
Europe. The cited materials were published in the following West European countries: Austria, Belgium, Finland,
France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. As of early 2002, the bibliographic citations
included materials published 1991-1996.
ERIC
Guide
ERIC is an index for all EDUCATION topics
- ERIC indexes Journal Articles in 1,000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available .
- ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.
General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current
events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art,
politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Indexes over 10,800 titles,
full text articles available for over 6300 titles, many with images. Updated daily.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service, 1975-1996)
Index to microfiche translations of foreign press releases and radio broadcasts
issued in eight editions: East Asia, China, East Europe, Latin
America, Near East & South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, Central Eurasia, and West Europe. The Library's subscription to FBIS for 1996- has been cancelled.
Index to Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports.
A CD-ROM index containing references to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports for all regions of the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe (Gov Docs CD Cabinet, Disc #13). The indexes to earlier FBIS Daily reports are available in print at DJK1 D34 (Eastern Europe), and DK1 U55 (USSR). World News Connection (WNC) gives access to the fulltext of these reports beginning in 1996. The fulltext of earlier reports is available in Microforms at PREX 7.10:FBIS-EEU- (Eastern Europe) or PrEx 7.10:FBIS-SOV-. (Soviet Union).
Access World News
Guide
Full-text content of local and regional newspapers worldwide. Each newspaper has its own distinctive focus offering a
variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Content formerly available from Global Newsbank is accessible via the Access World News interface.
Historical Abstracts
Guide
A selective bibliography of the world's historical literature (journal articles, books, dissertations) excluding U.S. and Canadian history. Covers the historical period from 1450 to present.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete is a comprehensive database of humanities content with coverage of over 1,900 titles dating as far back as 1925. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index.
IBZ-Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliter
A multilingual index to periodical literature. Includes abstracts, chiefly in English. International in scope and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent.
JSTOR
Guide
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back
files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
The JSTOR collections available through the UA Libraries include:
- Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII
- Business II Collection
- Public Health Reports
- Life Sciences Collection
- Ireland Collection
- Journal of Military History
- Journal of Field Archaeology
LexisNexis Academic
Guide
Includes general topic news, as well as company, industry, market,
government and political news. Coverage also includes: country and
state profiles, law reviews, federal case law, medical and health topics,
and accounting, auditing and tax information, company profiles and financials (public and private).
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference materials on authors of both fiction and nonfiction.
Includes bibliographical and biographical information, literary criticism and
contextual information. Access by author, title, genre, literary
movement or theme.
Includes primarily full text and excerpted text articles from major
reference sources, scholarly journals, commissioned essays and interviews.
ЛетопиÑÑŒ журнальных Ñтатей [Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei]
Provided by Indiana's University Digital Library ЛетопиÑÑŒ журнальных Ñтатей is a digitized serial publication that indexes Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975. Virtually any student or scholar studying Russian political science, literature, or history between 1956-1975 will find ЛетопиÑÑŒ журнальных Ñтатей to be an invaluable resource. This titles is available for 1998-present as part of the Russian National Bibliography database.
MLA Bibliography (literature, language, linguistics)
Guide
MLA International Bibliography provides an index and some full text links to journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Also includes listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Detailed coverage of English, American, European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
1912-2009
Digitized searchable archive of the Russian newspaper. Full text, full image.
A free internet database of German language publications relating to Russia and the Former Soviet Union. Covers 1974-present. Contains over 170,000 records. Currently the search page is in German only. An English version is in the works.
Russian Central Newspapers
Fulltext searchability for the following Russian newspapers/journals, some as far back as the early 1980s: Argumenty i fakty, Itogi, Izvestiia, Literaturnaia gazeta, Nezavisimaia gazeta, Ogonek, Pravda. All newspapers are in Russian (Cyrillic). Online Cyrillic keyboard is available for searching.
Includes the full content from the following Russian bibliographic sources:
- Letopis' periodicheskikh i prodolzhaiushchikhsia izdanii
- Knizhnaia Letopis'
- Letopis' retsenzii
- Letopis' gazetnykh statei
- Kartograficheskaia letopis'
- Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei
- Notnaia letopis'
- Letopis' avtoreferatov dissertatsii
- Letopis' izoizdanii
Russian Social Sciences & Humanities Journals
Fulltext database of Russian social sciences and humanities journals. Most provide 5 or more years of coverage. Titles include: Izvestiia RAN. Seriia literatury i iazyka, NG. Ex libris, Nash sovremennik, Neva, Novaia i noveishaia istoriia, Novoe literaturnoe obozrenie, Novyi mir, Oktiabr', Otechestvennaia istoriia, Russkaia literatura, Russkaia rech', Russkaia slovesnost', Vestnik drevnei istorii, Voprosy literatury, Vostok. Afro-aziatskie obshchestva: istoriia i sovremennost', Zvezda.
All content is in Cyrillic. Online Cyrillic keyboard is provided.
Slavistics Portal
The Virtual Library Slavistics “Slavistics-Portal†is the central point of access for the subject information for Slavistics via the internet. The Portal is directed to scientists and students, teachers, translators, journalists, cultural managers and all those, who are interested in Slavistics in general or Slavic languages, Slavic literatures and Slavic folklore in particular.
Social Sciences Citation Index (included in Web of Kno
Index to core journal articles
and cited references in the social sciences. Includes some
abstracts. To search only in Social Sciences Citation Index, click on the Change Limits and Settings link in the lower half of the search page and deselect the Science Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Vestnik Evropy 1802-1830 [Herald of Europe] Online
Published in Moscow from 1802 to 1830, Vestnik Evropy was founded by Nikolai Karamzin, famous author and historian. Among the journals contributors were Zhukovskii, Batiushkov, Viazemskii and Derzhavin. Aleksandr Pushkin published his first poems here in 1814. The database includes over 57,000 pages of text. Older orthographic conventions are being regularized in the OCR process to aid in searching. Text is available both in HTML and PDF format.
WorldCat
Guide
A catalog of records for all type of material cataloged
by libraries throughout the world. Includes records for
manuscripts written as early as the 12th century as
well as records for books, journals, software, etc.
created last week. This database is updated daily.
Interlibrary Loan service is available directly from WorldCat for
UA students, faculty and staff.
The RLG Union Catalog is no longer available. Please use
WorldCat instead.
Select print indexes
Z7161 .I58 Main Ref.
Indexes proceedings in the social sciences and humanities. A valuable resource, as proceedings, congresses, conference papers, etc. are often not indexed in other sources.
AI15 .L35 Main Current Journal. (1986- in Main Stacks)
Indexes hundreds of Russian (and previously Soviet) newspapers and other daily and weekly publications of all types. Issued weekly.
Bibliographies
Main Ref. Z2491 .H6
Z2513 .F66 Main
Contains citations to literary works by Russian emigre writers published outside of the Soviet Union.
Soviet Serials: bibliographic guides
Many bibliographic guides to Soviet/Russian serials are located in the call number range Z6950 through Z6960 Main/Main Ref.
Slavic Bibliographies
Various bibliographies, too specific to list here, are located in the call number range Z2483 through Z2527 Main/Main Ref.
Union Lists
A union catalog for more than 2000 libraries around the world, including all major research libraries and many public libraries in the US and Canada. Provides a very detailed search interface for focused searches. Updated daily.
Finding translations
Z2504.T8 L5 Main Ref.
Excludes periodicals.
Electronic texts
This site not only does it offer e-versions of most of the classics (War and Peace, Anna Karenina, Brothers Karamazov, Crime and Punishment, We, Doctor Zhivago, and Master and Margarita, just to name a few) but most words in the Russian text is "hyperlinked" to a vocabulary translator and grammar explanation. If nothing else, the underlying technology is mind boggling! The site also allows teachers to select any number of works and assemble them into their own Russian literature reader. The texts are saved in Adobe's Acrobat (.PDF) format.
The Fundamental Electronic Library of Russian Literature and Folklore
ФÐБ
This site houses the fulltext electronic corpora of many major Russian authors. In Russian only. Windows 1251 encoding.
Maksim Moshkov's remarkable online library of Russian/Soviet Classics
An extensive library of Russian and Soviet classics. Titles are too numerous to name. If you can think it, chances are, this electronic library has it.
Provides the fulltext of the works of hundreds of Russian authors. Very comprehensive. Worth perusing.
Театр и театральное иÑкуÑÑтво [Teatr i teatral'noe iskusstvo]
This site contains, among other things, a vast collection of plays, both Russian and foreign, all available in the Russian language.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 17 Jan 14:31
