Search & Find
Political Science
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Additional Background Information
- Web Resources
- Course Home Pages
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- Cite Sources
Background Information
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Full-text versions ofprimary source materials in the fields of politics, diplomacy, and government. See links to the project's major collections , which cover a wide range of U.S. and international issues.
U.S. State Department information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations.Include facts about each country's government, political conditions, foreign relations, land, people, history, and economy.
JF37.U55 A12 PrEx 3.11/2 Main Library Government Documents and Law Library Government Documents
Online directory of world leaders, published by the Central Intelligence Agency.
DA34.H64 1997 Main Library
Brief entries on the people, places, and events of British history. See preview copy at Google Book Search.
JA61.C665 2003 Main Ref.
Definitions of concepts, terms, and references.
JK1012 .P65 2003 Info Commons Reference
K2.L3 2007 (6 volumes) Main Ref., K3157.A2.B58 1998 Law Foreign Coll.
English translations of some of the constitutions are accompanied by the original text.
JA61.R39 1978 Law Library and Main Ref.
There are over 4,600 entries in this volume, consisting of definitions of concepts, terms, and references. These definitions are brief and contain bibliographic sources.
DA566.7.A18 Main Library
A multi-volume series of the most important documents from the British Foreign Office Archives related to international affairs from the end of World War I to the beginning of World War II.
Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports
In-depth analysis of political and economic trends andbackground and historical context of current economic and political events for nearly 200 countries.
Information on each of the foreign embassies in Washington D.C., with links to Web-based resources.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
The New Encyclopædia Britannica AE5.E363 1994 (32 volumes) Main Ref.
Encyclopædia Britannica AE5.E363 (has 29-volume 1910-11 set and 3-volume 1771 set) Main Ref.
Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.
JC423.E53 1995 (4 volumes) Main Ref.
Provides readers with answers to questions about geographical regions, historical eras, important individuals, philosophical concepts, and many other issues to an understanding of democracy. See also Who's who in democracy (online).
JC571.E67 1996 Main Ref.
Comprehensive source dealing with human right issues
JN1.E85 (1989-2005 editions in Information Commons Reference)
(online access to The Europa World Year Book and Europa Regional Surveys of the World , available only to UA students, faculty, and staff)
The Europa World Year Book (formerly the Europe Year Book: a World Survey) is an authoritative reference work, providing a wealth of detailed information on the political, economic and commercial institutions of the world.
J9.5.G84 1990 Main Reference, Z7164.G7 G83 1990 Law Library Reference
Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennial
HA202.H57 2006 (5 volumes) Law Library Reference
A definitive reference source for quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
House of Commons Parliamentary Papersincludes more than 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Itdelivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
JA71.I543 2005 Main Ref.
It provides a detailed and descriptive inventory of reference sources to unknown political information.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral
H41.I58 2001 (26 volumes) Main Ref.
Over 4,000 articles about topics in the social and behavioral sciences.
This is the official reference facility for Command Papers, departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers, and key Departmental Papers.From May 2005 onward, these papers are available in PDF format for browsing and printing.
JA61.O95 2001 Main Ref.
Provides a comprehensive guide to international relations and national domestic politics throughout the world.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Illustrated collection of more than 50,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped Britain's past.
JF37.P6 2007 Main Ref.
Include essential political information such as heads of state, cabinet members, political parties, representation in national legislatures, mass media, and composition and activities of major intergovernmental organizations worldwide.
Forecasts for individual nations around the world, from Algeria to Zimbabwe. Each section is available online from Business Source Complete/Political Science Complete. See the catalog for links to the online sections.
JA71.Y75 1990 Main Ref.
Provides reference sources to political information.
JA61.D47 1999 (2 volumes) Main Ref.
This source describes unique ethnic and social composition and its own unique history of 192 sovereign nations in the world. This encyclopedia attempts to describe these systems and relate them to the social and economic influences which, over the years, have fashioned them.
JF1351.C53 1992 Main Ref.
This is an authoritative guide to information sources in public administration
Legislative information on the Library of Congress' website includes bills and resolutions, roll call votes, activity in Congress, the Congressional Record, committees, treaties, and more.
S 1.3/5 (1990-1999) Main Library Government Documents & Law Library GovernmentDocuments
Key speeches and testimony by senior State Department officials as well asU.S. treaty actions.
JF511.W67 1998 (2 volumes) Main Ref. and Law Ref.
This encyclopedia is a record of the state of parliamentary democracy around the world. It provides a comprehensive survey of one of the central institutions of modern political life and basis for the comparative study of parliaments and legislatures in terms of their history as well as heir present functions and procedures.
JA51.W6 2007 Main Ref.
Country information from the Central Intelligence Agency.
Additional sources of background information covering Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Europe, the U.S., as well as the presidency and Congress and other politcal science resources.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 22 Sep 12:15
