Search & Find
Media Arts and Film
- Background Information
- Find Articles
- Find Source Documents
- Reviews
- People & Organizations
- Media Arts Related Web Resources
- Course & Department Home Pages
- Research Tools & Guidelines
- Cite Sources
Media Arts Course-Specific Guides
MAR 100b - Film and Television History, Mid-20th Century to the Present
MAR 303/505 - Professional Practices
Background Information
General Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
PN1993.5.U6 S539 1998 Main Ref.
PN1993.45 .B74 1995 Main Ref.
PN1993.45 .K66 1997 Main Ref.
Dictionary of film industry, film technology and film studies terms. Includes cutting edge video and editing terminology of the 1990s. Designed for professionals and nonprofessionals. Entry length varies from a short sentence to a page or more.
PN1993.45 .C75 2001 Main Ref.
P87.5 .D36 2000 Main Ref.
Dictionary of terms, laws, theories and other useful terms associated with communications, media studies and media history. Includes technical, academic and vernacular terms. Entries range from a few lines to about 1 1/2 pages. Includes chronology of media events.
PN1990.4 .B64 2000 Main Ref.
Key Reference Guide to the professional language and terminology of international radio, television and film production. Provides information about professional organizations, guilds, awards, festivals, national and international industry standards, film and television systems, news agencies, etc. Mostly short entries, 1-4 lines.
Reference Works: TV and Film -- Titles, Creators & Credits
A priceless reference work, giving details on films produced in the US from 1893-1970.
An excellent Media Arts resource. Information about movies from the earliest cinema to movies still in production. Because this database is collectively updated/generated, the information can be incorrect at times (especially for foreign films). For authoritative information, use Film Indexes Online (below).
In CD Cabinet, Information Commons.
Comprehensive, searchable database covering over 300,000 films from 1895 to mid-1998 from over 170 countries.
Combines the American Film institute Catalog and Film Index International in a single database.
The AFI Catalog, compiled by film experts and researchers at the American Film Institute, presents a detailed view of American feature films produced during the last century up to 1970. AFI Catalog offers an unmatched level of detail, with full production and cast information, extensive plot summaries and production notes.
FFI provides detailed information about motion pictures (production information) & cinema workers. Includes references to articles full: Film Index International gives full international coverage of films and film personalities from over 170 countries, up to the present day. All eras of film-making are covered - from the early silent movies to recent box-office hits.
PN1993.3 Main Ref.
Provides reviews and essays for nearly 500 films of 1994, collated from entertainment industry publications. The text has sections listing awards and obituaries for the year, and nine indexes to allow the reader to search for films by title, director, screenwriter, performer and musical score.
PN1993.45 .M3 Main Ref.
In six volumes, this set discusses 751 films in essays that cover important names, eras, trends and genres. Each essay provides a quick-reference heading that shows release date, producer, director, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, art director and running time.
PN1993.45 .M34 1985 Main Ref.
This seven volume set discusss 700 foreign language films in essays that cover important names, eras, trends and genres. Each essay provides details on release date, producer, director, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, art director and running time. The last volume is an index.
PN1995.75 .M33 1982 Main Ref.
In three volumes, this set discusses 308 silent films in essays that cover important names, trends and genres and major prouction companies. Each essay provides details on release date, producer, director, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, art director and running time.
Most recent CD ROM version is in main stacks at PN1995 .M675 1994. Older print volumes are at the same call numbers in main reference. A comprehensive film encyclopedia with reviews of 35,000+ film titles from 1910 forward. Features in-depth synopses, cast and production credits.
PN1997.8 .I58 1984, 1990, 2000 Main Ref.
Five volume set that provides general information on international current and historic films, directors, performers, screenwriters, etc. Volume One describes about 600 major or representative films including production credits. Remaining volumes provide bibliographies, filmographies, short biographical entries and essays related to nearly 1600 film contributors. Director bibliographies include references to written materials both by and about the director. Indexed.
PN1992.18 .B7 1992 Main Ref.
Covers terminology, people, programs, networks and organizations.
Reference Works: Film and Television Industry
AFI [American Film Institute] Catalog
The AFI Catalog, compiled by film experts and researchers at the American Film Institute, presents a detailed view of American feature films produced during the last century up to 1970. AFI Catalog offers an unmatched level of detail, with full production and cast information, extensive plot summaries and production notes.
By the UA Library
Gives an excellent description of the primary databases and print materials available at the U of A for Business Research.
Contains information for approximately 400,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state and local non-profit membership organizations in all fields. Search by location, subject or SIC code. Great for finding information about various media assoications, guilds, etc.
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf integrates 14 of Gale's most popular reference directories. It contains more than 320,000 listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications (ranging from newspapers and newsletters to periodicals and directories), databases, television and radio stations, and more. Fully searchable across all files. Print Equivalents:
- Encyclopedia of Associations: National Associations (HS17 .G332 Main & Sci Ref.)
- Encyclopedia of Associations: International Associations (HS17 .G453 Main & Sci Ref.)
- Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Associations (HS17 .E52 Main Ref.)
- Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations (JK468.C7 E5 Main Ref.)
- Publishers Directory (Z282. B66 Main Ref.)
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media (Z6951 .A97 Main Ref.)
- Directories in Print (AY2001 .D57 Main Ref.)
- Newsletters in Print (Z6941 .N3 Main Ref.)
- Gale Directory of Databases (QA76.9.D32 D576 Main & Sci. Ref.)
- Gale Guide to Internet Databases (TK5105.875.I57 G34 1995 Science)
- Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers (Z731 .D5 Main Ref.)
- Research Centers Directory (AS25 .D5 Main & Sci. Ref.)
- Government Research Centers Directory (Q179.98 .G68 Main & Sci. Ref.)
- International Research Centers Directory (AS25 .I5 Main Ref.)
- Encyclopedia of American Religion (BL2525 .M449 Main Ref.)
PN1993.3 .I55 Main Ref. (earlier volumes in main stacks)
Annual facts and figures on film industry activity around the world. Includes industry information on distributors, theater markets, advertising services, costuming activities, film preservation, etc. Industry biographies, obituaries and film releases are included.
PN1993.45 .N4 1984 Main Ref.
Facsimile reprint collection of film related articles that appeared in the NY Times from 1896-1979. Does not focus on film reviews, but rather the industry and those related to the industry as a whole -- includes commercial, production, and personal aspects. Facsimile advertisements.
PN1993.5.U77 B46a Main Ref. (earlier volumes in main stacks)
Production manual for the motion picture, broadcast-television, advertising, cable/satellite, digital and videotape industries. Includes professional information -- a significant portion of which is arranged by state, country or region -- relating to unions, guilds, festivals and award, markets, other commercial aspects, etc.
PN1993.3 .I544 Main Ref. (earlier volumes in main stacks)
Focus on film, primarily in the United States. Lists statistics and awards associated with film, talent and literary agents and corporate and organizational information.
PN1992.95 .V53 Main Ref. (earlier volumes in main stacks)
A "books-in-print" to videos in current distribution for sale with short content synopsis. Distributor identified but no cost/price info.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 17 Jan 14:38
