Search & Find
Women's Studies
- Background Information
- Finding Articles
- Finding Videos
- Facts & Figures
- People & Organizations
- History, Art, and Literature
- Ethnic Groups
- Politics & Activism
- WS at the UA
- Science & Technology
Encyclopedias and other Reference Works
HQ 1115 R69 2000 Info Commons Reference
The best encyclopedia of its kind. Very comprehensive and scholarly.
Includes over 650 biographies of influential women throughout history and over 600 articles covering topics such as history, religion, law, health, culture, and much more.
This online encyclopedia includes entries covering various topics with a focus on gender, including popular culture, body image, health, crime, gender identities, politics, race, family, religion, science, and more.
This online encyclopedia includes articles about women in the American West from the mid-1800s to the present. In addition to hundreds of biographies, topical areas include agriculture and ranching, arts & letters, education, entrepreneurs, law, pioneers, religion, and women's organizations. Also includes "The Chronology of America and Its Women."
Covers all aspects of women's studies -from the sciences; literature, arts, and learning; history, philosophy, and religion.
Selected as a 2006 ALA/RUSA Outstanding Reference Source, a 2005 Booklist Editor's Choice, and a 2005 Choice Outstanding Academic Title, this online reference work includes nearly 600 entries with biographies and topical articles.
HQ1170 E53 2003 Main Reference
An interdisciplinary and transhistorical multi-volume work with large research articles and bibliographies.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Encyclopedia
Resource for information about many aspects of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender culture. Users can search by keyword, or move through the thematic sections offered, such as literature or the arts.
HQ1410 .H36 2000 Info Commons Reference
Important events, organizations, and figures in U.S. women's history.
HQ1115 .W6425 1997 Info Commons Reference
A 3-volume collection of articles focusing on contemporary women's issues in the U.S. and Canada.
Other Background Resources
WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
Links to Archives, Art & Film, Culture, Education, Health, History, Lesbian Sites, Philosophy, Politics, & Science & Technology. Maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resources Sites
Activism, arts and humanities, girls, health, international, net info, religion, science, sexuality, women of color.
Selected list of resources by topic; activism, arts & humanities, girls, health/reproductive rights, publications, violence, technology, organizations, women's studies.
Women's Studies Database (University of Maryland)
Conference information, film reviews, gender issues, employment, government,calls for papers, reference, syllabi.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 09 Jan 19:04
