Search & Find
United States History, Civil War
Find Journal & Magazine Articles
Provides access to the archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
19th Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus)
Index to American and British publications, the New York Times (1863-1905), New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906), and government publications (1774-1881). Links to some full text.
Periodicals Archive Online contains over 400 journals, published between 1802 and the 1990s, representing over 1.2 million articles. Periodicals Archive Online continues to add new titles, to give undergraduate and graduate students, university faculty and libraries access to a growing collection of the most historically respected journals in the humanities and social sciences.
A general index to popular American magazines, 1890-1982. No full text.
American Periodicals (1740-1900)
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
Non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, includes interviews, diaries, journal articles, and letters.
Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912
Guide
Every page of Harper's Weekly magazine is accessible in an electronic reproduced format for the years 1857-1912. Permits retrieval of Harper's Weekly content through four cumulative indexes: subject, illustration, literature and publishing, and advertising. Printing of the oversize images of Harpweek pages on Windows computers is supported by a special helper program. Click here to download it. (Save HWPInstall.exe to your hard drive, then double click it to unzip it. Run the Setup.exe program to install)
Collection of over 1,500 digitized books from the 19th century in all subject areas, and full-text of 23 periodicals including: Scientific American, Scribner's, Harper's New Monthly Magazine, and The Galaxy. Periodical titles cover the dates 1815-1901.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
A collection of women's diaries and correspondence. The collection is searchable by author, keyword and phrases, historical events, and personal life events, such as marriage, death of husband or child, age, religion, race and occupation.
LexisNexis Congressional
Provides indexing of many Congressional publications, including Hearings, Committee Prints, Reports, Documents and Congressional Research Service Reports, from 1789 to the present.
| Subscribe to RSS feed | Last Update: 27 Mar 16:36
